A Fiction Writer’s Goal

dreamstime_5555091As you know, Christina Katz visited the blog last week for a little Q&A.  She gave some great advice on platform, building readership and selling A LOT of books.  Her visit got me thinking…really thinking about my goals as a writer.  Oh sure, I want to write really GREAT stories and I want to get published.  But what else?

I have a friend that is working on revisions to one of her novels, including weaving in a little more social commentary.  Now this friend is an amazing writer, and her story is fabulous.  Adding the social commentary element just makes her story even more amazing. 

But her journey got me thinking as well.

So I started asking myself, what is my platform?  Who am I as a writer?  Do I simply want to write great stories?  Or is there more?

After pondering this all weekend (and truthfully, I have pondered this before) I decided that I want to not only write great stories that have a message, I want to inspire people.  I know, lofty goal…but it really is what I am about.  At work, I strive to inspire others – both the adults and the children I work with.  When I write, I try to inspire as well.  I even want to inspire when I blog.

But, what is it that I want to inspire?  This one is a bit harder to figure out.  I could inspire creativity, authenticity…the list could go on and on.  The more I think about it, the more I have no idea where I’m going with the whole “inspire” others thing. 

So, for the next few weeks I will stew on this question, trying to really determine what my true goal is in writing.  Until then, I’ll keep working on my craft, developing my ideas for building a platform, and meeting both published, successful authors, and aspiring writers like myself.

Thank you, Christina, for giving me so much to think about.  It has helped more than you will ever realize.

For a complete list of Christina’s blog tour stops, visit the writermama blog.

3 thoughts on “A Fiction Writer’s Goal

  1. Yeah, this is a deeeep topic. One that requires much searching and stewing. Luckily, I’ve been in that pot for a while now. I’m with you, though. I want a great story and to inspire. Hopefully, we can both figure out how to do both. :D

  2. I think the hardest part about infusing a purpose or message or social statement in your writing is managing to do it without sounding preachy and ridiculous. We’re struggling a little bit with P&P trying to make sure that we give the right message to teen girls without sounding like an after school special. It’s a fine line.

  3. Lisa – that is so true. It is so hard to weave in just the right about, without the whole preachy thing! Fortunately, there are a lot of great authors out there that we can learn from.

    And Elana – I bet we figure this out…right? (say right)

Leave a Reply

