A winner, an award, and other randomness

I love days like this! I get to announce winners and give away an award…pretty great way to start the week!

Okay, first up – the winner of the EPIC giveaway for a SIGNED copy of EMOTIONAL INTENSITY IN GIFTED STUDENTS and tons of book swag…

MONICA MORRELL

And we have a bonus…another one of the reviewers is giving away her ARC. So, I chose another random name for the ARC:

JULIE MUSIL

Now, an award -

On Friday I won the Honest Scrap Award from the amazing Michelle Sussman. I was s touched by this!  This is award is described as follows:

This award is about bloggers who post from their heart, who often times put their heart on display as they write from the depths of their soul. This means so much to me as that is the root reason of why and what I write about. I believe writing is your heart without a mask. My writing, whether it be a blog post, a poem, a piece of prose or a WIP is the truest part of my soul. To me writing is about honesty and truth-seeking. There is the saying that the pen is more powerful than the sword. I believe that writing is a way to challenge people and to speak often times for those who cannot speak.

As with any award, there are rules:

Share the Award – 

I had no problem thinking of a couple of people for this award -

  • Ali Cross pours a piece of herself into every single post she writes. Her words never fail to touch me on a deep level, making her blog a must read for me every time she posts.
  • Danyelle Leafy also pours herself into her blogs. Her advice is always great and straight from the heart.
  • Windy Aphayrath - She is always so down to earth and honest about things. Love her!

Now, I’m supposed to share ten things about me you may not know (nor may you want to know them). This part is always really really hard for me. Oh well, here it goes -

  1. I am a total introvert in person. Really. If I have to spend too much time in crowds I get so…irratable.
  2. My introversion does not seem to apply online – I LOVE hanging with people on twitter, fb, blogs. Go figure.
  3. I suffer from a lack of confidence more often than I care to admit. Thank goodness I have amazing online writerly peeps to talk me through it.
  4. I am not into sweets (except dark chocolate) – but starches like bakery fresh bread, etc…those are my downfall.
  5. There is a part of me that is terrified to seriously start writing again – I know, I know…it makes no sense.
  6. I am addicted to certain TV shows. Thank goodness for DVR.
  7. I don’t cook nearly as often as I did before I started writing. Thankfully my husband enjoys cooking too, or we would all starve at this point.
  8. I love talking with kids about stuff. In fact, I’m speaking with a HUGE group of middle school aged kids today as part of some research for a current project – I am so excited, I could hardly sleep.
  9. I CAN.NOT.WAIT for the next HP movie. Like really…CAN’T WAIT
  10. I think I am pretty boring – which is why these sort of lists drive me INSANE!

Whew…that’s over!

Onto the randomness.

I am guest posting on the Query Tracker blog today, talking about something we all have to deal with – feeling like an imposter! Check it out.

So, that’s it for me…what random stuff do you have to share?

14 thoughts on “A winner, an award, and other randomness

  1. Congrats to the winners & congrats to you for your blog award! I can’t wait for HP either!!!!!!

  2. Congrats on your award. I love learning things about other writers.

  3. Aww, thanks, dear!

  4. Thanks, Christine! You are truly awesome! (And out of your ten things, I fit five. >:) Nothing’s better than baked goods. Nothing!) O:)

    *extra hugs*

  5. Congrats on your award and congrats to the winner! I read your guest post earlier today – it was great!

  6. Congrats on your award, Christine!

    Wow, I can totally relate to 1, 2, 3, 7, 9, 10. ;)

    Great post on the QT blog!

  7. So nice to learn more about your Christine! And congrats to you and the new award recipients!

  8. Congratulations on the award! I’m an introvert in person, too; but, like you, I don’t mind connecting with people online.

    And I’m dying to see the next HP movie!!

  9. Congratulations on your award. Totally relate to 1,2, and 3. I went to a conference this past weekend and I swear they need to come up with designated extroverts program who will take introverts under their wing. I didn’t have my extrovert to smooth the way for me. I just can’t start conversations with complete strangers at a party and feel comfortable about it.

  10. Thanks for the book! I can’t wait to read it. I DM’d my address to you on Twitter today, so hopefully you got that.

    What fun facts about you. Now I’m craving warm bread with butter. It’s all your fault!

  11. 1,2,3,6,10: me too. Very much.
    My big random of the day is that I’m at CAGT today and tomorrow. And I just want to walk around with your book on my forehead. :) So many questions I heard at breakout sessions were considered and answered in your book. Maybe I’ll take it tomorrow and just smack people with it. ;)

  12. Congratulations to the winners!

    And, congratulations on your award! You deserve it; you work hard on your blog. And now I’m hungry for cookies.

    Off i go to QT to check out your guest post!

  13. I am so happy that I won! :) HOOOORAAAAY! :) Thank you so much Christine! I’m in the middle of reading your book and enjoying it tremendously! (I will be keeping the signed copy of course.) I’m going to spread the love with the group I run called Parents of Gifted Children Resource Group in my local area as well as with my son’s teachers and past teachers and people on the street. :)
    Thank you again! I’m very thrilled! :)

  14. Aw, Christine. Thank you so so much. (hugs) You just made me feel so loved! And I can totally relate to your list. I’m totally with you on #1 ~ my husband knows I can only take so much “out” time and then I really need to be swept away back to the privacy of my little family!

    Congrats on your award too–you SO deserve it!

Leave a Reply

