Some Advice for Writers…

OMGosh…I am SO happy it’s Friday – even if it is Friday the Thirteenth (No Triskaidekaphobia here!).

You know, today marks the end of the epic Blog Book Tour and I’m hanging out on Eric Stallsworth’s blog today. Since he was nice enough to host the final leg of the tour –  thought I’d ask him to come over here and share a few of his thoughts about writing.

Take it away Eric:

First off, I’d like to thank Christine for allowing me to guest post on her blog.  It’s always fun to do this sort of thing, and for Christine it’s a true honor.   She has inspired and influenced me in more ways than I can count.

When she asked that I write a guest post, I had to think hard to come up with a topic.  Although Christine is an expert on gifted kids and their education, I wouldn’t even know where to begin.  But having lived and breathed for 40 years now, I realized I can offer a bit of advice to any young writers out there.

I’ve talked before about having fun and choosing to smile at every opportunity, but there’s something else that’s an important part of succeeding in life.  This definitely applies to writing and becoming a writer, but it also applies to just about anything else we do.  I’m talking about balance.

It might sound strange, but balance is one of the keys to a successful life.  I don’t mean the ability to stand on one foot while wiggling a hand over your stomach and patting your head without falling over.  What I’m really talking about is how you balance all the various things going on in your life.  I’m talking about balancing what you do, what you eat, how much time you spend playing games, and how hard you work.

It’s obvious that if you eat too many chocolate bars a day, that’s not a balanced diet and your health will suffer for it.  But what about if you’re a writer who writes every day, as often as you can pick up the pen?  Believe it or not, that is a life out of balance.  Just as not writing enough means you won’t succeed, writing too often means something else in your life suffers from the lack of attention.  And if it’s important to you (this other thing), it deserves your attention as much as writing does.

I guess my point is to find the balance that works for you and don’t let one aspect of your life (writing or otherwise) dominate everything else.  There’s nothing wrong with working hard at something like writing, but keep it in balance so that you succeed in all areas of your life – not just writing.

Thanks again Christine for this opportunity.  As always, it’s a pleasure to know you and play a small part in the launching of your book. 

And for the rest of you, do you balance your life well?   If not, why not?

And thank you Eric for stopping by! Have a great weekend everyone. I’m sharing the winners from the Epic Blog Tour Contests, as well as letting you know who is posting reviews of 101 Success Secrets.

And one last treat for today – I hanging with my idol, Christina Katz, talking about my writing process and giving away a copy of 101 Success Secrets as part of her book-a-day-in-may giveaway! Not to be missed, trust me! Click here to check it out.

WOOT, what a great day! Yes???

4 thoughts on “Some Advice for Writers…

  1. Awesome day! And great advice, Eric! Finding the balance can be tricking, but when you’ve got it, it’s such an amazing feeling! The hard part is remembering that you have to reassess over and over again because any little thing can tip you this way and that.

  2. Ahh balance – yep…necessary, though sometimes (often) hard to find :) Great post!!

  3. Thank you Nisa and Michelle M. It was such fun writing this post, and I hope everyone gets at least a little something good from it.

  4. There couldn’t have been a wiser post. Writing in every spare second IS a life out of balance. Eric is so wise.

Leave a Reply

