A Fabulous New Book For Budding Writers (and a giveaway)

Today I thought I’d take a break from the myth series to share a review on a fabulous and newly revised book: SEIZE THE STORY.

First, the blurb (from Amazon):

Do you wish you had a published writer’s secrets at your fingertips, ready to help you achieve your goals of publication, success, and the chance to be the next great teen writer? InĀ Seize the Story: A Handbook for Teens Who Like to Write, Victoria Hanley, award-winning author of young adult fiction, spills the secrets for bringing action, adventure, humor, and drama to stories. All of the elements of fiction, from creating believable dialogue to exciting plots, are laid out clearly and illustrated with examples taken straight from story excerpts by excellent writers. The book is packed with writing exercises designed to encourage teens to tell the stories that are theirs alone.

In addition, other published authors of young adult literature share their insights about the writing life. Teens can gain firsthand advice from accomplished writers T. A. Barron, Joan Bauer, Hilari Bell, Chris Crutcher, David Lubar, Lauren Myracle, Todd Mitchell, Nancy Garden, and many more.

Now a review – but better than me reviewing it, I thought I’d let my own budding author and daughter tell you her thoughts. Take it away Erika:

I really loved this book because I love to write. This book has totally helped me find a way to put my stories on paper. In fact, just by reading the first two chapters of SEIZE THE STORY, I started writing something new.

This book has great activities to try. They really helped me start new stories and craft new ideas. In fact, one of the suggestions was writing in a notebook – my very own writing journal. I am hoping to be able to fill every page with activities, idea and stories inspired by this book.

So, if you are a budding writer and you want help to craft your stories, this is a great book for you. There are even interviews with published YA authors. It is great!

So, there you have it…straight from my 11 year old.

But don’t take my word for it (or hers) – leave a comment and you could win your own copy! Contest closes on Friday and is open only to US residents.

Good luck!

8 thoughts on “A Fabulous New Book For Budding Writers (and a giveaway)

  1. Great Post ! See you often on Good-reads.
    Love from Maria

  2. I would love to read this book. I have so much to learn!

    CarolNWong(at)aol(dot)com

  3. Christine, I have a daughter that really really needs this book.. ;-D

    Les (@Leslinks)

  4. Would love to see if this could encourage my kidlet to think differently about writing! Sounds like a great prompt. :)

  5. This sounds great! If I don’t manage to win a copy for my 10-1/2 year old, I’ll probably buy one for her! She is shooting for 30,000 words this year in the NaNoWriMo YWP!

  6. Heck yeah. Sounds awesome! Sounds like the perfect Christmas gift for teen writers!

  7. I would love to be better at teaching writing – and writing myself. I am good at telling mini-stories verbally, but when I get to the written page, I feel like I don’t have anything to say.

  8. This sounds like a must-have for any English teacher, but also gifted educators in particular. When these intense students express a desire to write a book, it would be great to have a resource for them to turn to with step-by-step instructions and exercises, like the way this book sounds. It sounds fantastic!! Great job!

Leave a Reply

