Sing it Sista!

Oh my goodness! I have always been fond of Jen and her humor in approaching both her own giftedness and the issues with her 2E household, but man oh man….

Friday’s post was the BEST! – Just check out this little snippet:

To the best of my knowledge there is no cure for Impostor Syndrome; I believe it’s just something you have to learn to live with. Coupled with Perfectionism it makes for an interesting evening of internal voices duking it out (don’t even ask how long it took to write this post). I’m just tired of its whispered lies.

Jen’s words ring so true for me and most of the gifted adults I know. And yes, it is about doing things IN SPITE of the perfectionism and the Imposter Syndrome…maybe even BECAUSE of them.

For me, I am always looking for ways to not only combat my own insecurities, but help others do the same. REDEFINING NORMAL, releasing next year, is a book specifically for teen girls and deals with the issues of both perfectionism and the Imposter Syndrome so many of us deal with. I am excited for this book, excited to think maybe this is something we can shape at a much younger age.

But what about me and the other adults out there – what about those of us whose negative self-talk is beyond ingrained in our minds? Do we need our own manual to deal with this more pervasive aspect of self?

I think maybe yes. And I think I’ve found my next book project…

Thoughts?

4 thoughts on “Sing it Sista!

  1. Perhaps one of those recordings with subliminal messages?!?

  2. Yes. Great idea.

    Also, I keep wanting to pin the posts here to my Pinterest account to share, but there aren’t enough graphics that will work. As y’all move forward with the blog, I’m hoping that is something that can be addressed. ;) Pinterest drives a lot of traffic now to my site, and I think your site and topics would reach new audiences if we can share your collective wisdom there.

  3. Thank you. :) I’m humbled beyond words by your comment…and about to go smother the whispers that suddenly got louder. Just need to find a pillow.
    Yes. Please. For the love of all things holy, a book on/for gifted adults.

  4. A fun and yet deep look at life as a Gifted woman would be awesome! Personally I’m 2-E. I always knew I was different but those things I wasn’t really good at always clouded the things I Was good at, If you know what I mean. I’d Love to read the teen book to see if it would be helpful for my gifted daughter. She might have a touch of dyscalculia, and test anxiety, but she’s so organized its Spooky. She’s gifted both Sequentially and Visually. Like I said spooky smart, I just marvel at how she thinks sometimes, she’s used to that by now from me. Part of her frustration with me is how I can be so focused at one moment and a space cadet the next (part of the joy of life as a gifted woman with a probable case of adhd-inattentive variety) Strattera seems to be helping.
    A lot of women seem to struggle deeply with the imposter thing, likely because a vast majority are trained to minimize our accomplishments so as to avoid being labeled something negative. Perhaps this tide is changing as women learn to be comfortable in our own skin, and coach our daughters to accept that being gifted doesn’t mean were bragging, its a fact like the barometric pressure or if its raining out. It’s real it matters, and we matter-even if we are hiding in plain sight. Our intelligence and insight can only be valuable additions to the American Experiment. I’m excited to see how this synergy of thoughtful reflection and technology blossoms to aid people all over the world. We live in an amazing time. Just think, we’ve only had the right to vote for less than 100 years, homeschooling has only really been allowed to become legalized in my lifetime. Giftedness has only really been recognized and encouraged for the last 40 years or less in real life schools. The 2-e thing is still not widely recognized by the general public so there’s a lot of room for exploration and encouraging the unique abilities of so many of our peers and our youth. Be encouraged! What your doing matters! Go for it! :D
    Sincerely, Anna Rounseville

Leave a Reply

