Busy, Busy, Busy and I Need to Focus.

I have been busy. That seems to be a trend around here. I have often talked to others about my past as being “in an earlier life,” and this has nothing to do with reincarnation or being Daniel Boone. The reference is to when I would have a completely different job, or before being married or having children.

At one time I was a web developer working for a very large fortune 100 corporation and it does feel lifetimes ago. I immerse myself into whatever I’m doing. Some say I jump in with both feet, others say I get wrapped up in whatever I do (to a bit of an extreme).  I have also taught High School Marketing and Finance, and that was a different life. Before being married I enjoyed more …exciting sports. River kayaking down class IV and V rapids and rock climbing were a staple. I was an aquatics Director and later program director at a summer camp and for a while thought I’d buy a camp and run it.

My search seems to be endless as I bounce around what my entelechy really is. I am alive to present on the topic of Giftedness and Learning Disabilities. I have presented in Dallas, Chicago, Boston, Jacksonville, and countless smaller venues, but I’ve never been busy enough to even make it part-time work. Stipends are small usually, so I find I need to work. I enjoy learning new skills and helping people, and the closer I get to helping people understand themselves while being true to myself, the better.  Presenting is where I’m allowed to be my extroverted-dynamic-creative-caring-passionate self. That’s my entelechy. The challenge for me is doing everything else along the journey.

What’s your entelechy, and how do you work it or keep working toward it?

To read more about what entelechy means, you can Google Jean Houston and Entelechy or read a good blog post here

5 thoughts on “Busy, Busy, Busy and I Need to Focus.

  1. Because self-evolution is so time consuming, I would like it to be my career too. I am always aware of this when I think I want to become something else. ie I thought I wanted to be a teacher but I didn’t. I wanted to be a learner. I thought I wanted to be a psychologist, but I didn’t. I wanted to heal my soul. Otherwise, I would be pursuing vocations willnilly and would never become an expert. For me writing is the one activity that always grows with me. I’m resisting becoming official on the other things bc I know I would end up stagnating again after 10 years (and, sadly, getting official educational credentials is prohibitively expensive and time-consuming). Anyone else on a 10 yr cycle? Or is that long in the gifted community? ;)

    • Hi Andrea, I’m on a much shorter cycle, but I certainly can’t say what the average is in the gifted community. I do find “stagnation” with many things, but I’ve been presenting nationally since I was in college and it evolves with me as well. For me, I present and feel it’s just right. Even when I don’t feel I did as well or had less of a connection to the audience, it still feels better than the best days I had as a web developer. :)

    • A 10 year cycle seems to be what is suggested by the 10,000 hours in a discipline to be an expert idea presented in the book Outliers. I have read many descriptions of gifted adults as people who think faster than others. But that is not me. But I do think I think harder and longer than others, which is why it takes me sometimes fewer years to feel mastery which can lead to boredom in something. I taught for about 11 years, and I must say, as I was on my way out, i thought that if I had to teach scarlet letter one more time, i’d go bonky. (In fact, Hester Prynne’s dialogue was seeming more hysterical every year, and I was beginning to laugh at the wrong times. Iago’s villainy seemed more and more clever, which was inappropriate. And I stopped crying each time I read Of Mice and Men after about 8 years.) My dad always said you can teach 1 year 20 times or 20 years, so I always tried to refine my plans, but I couldn’t change the books. Of course, now 8 years have passed and I miss it! But I am into the writing (and teaching only a little), which as you have said, is something that can grow with you. I’m hoping that is the answer to my search!
      a long time ago i decided that the meaning of life for me is to find the meaning of life, as in always search for it, which matches most INFJ’s

  2. On Busy, Busy, Focus title. I started prioritizing instead of focusing. I can achieve 2 goals a day. I set them in advance, often three or four days in advance. Seriously, like Mon: Read Chapter 8 of my novel, Feb Compliance; Tues: Lunch with old folks, To Kill A Mockingbird Curriculum. It really works for me, bc I do those two things really well, they reflect my long-term priorities, and I don’t find the days “slipping away.” I do include family gatherings as a goal for the day bc they take a lot of energy and I want to be really present–quality time. Does anyone else use a method to ensure sticking with priorities in a busy life? I find I can only do 2 a day and most people think that’s too few, but wow, I achieve so much more of what I want to achieve. (I just have to remember to do it–don’t like routines. ;)

  3. My friends who have math and tech skills have a particularly hard time leaving that behind bc they make good money and the work is socially sanctioned. (I started out as an actuary at a Big 8 firm and relate). Sometimes it works to do part-time until they move on or permanently, but it’s tough with a family. And I have friends in tech who can’t take it anymore even part-time. Good for you for making the change. I have to check your bio again, see if you have a website.

Leave a Reply

