The End of Summer Blues

Give me strength, I may not make it through August. I make the same mistake every single year, and apparently it’s the kind of Twilight Zone mistake that erases my memory because you’d think I’d remember this. I forget to schedule something,¬†anything, for the last few weeks of the summer before school starts. So after a delightful two months of perfectly scheduled activities, suddenly we’re into the last bits of the break and about to wring each others’ necks. Kinda like Sunday afternoons, when you’re just all sick of each other.

It’s a little different this year, though. This year I won’t dropkick both boys into the nearest public school. Only the youngest will return on the 22nd, my 2e 11 year old will remain with me as we begin our first full school year of homeschooling. I think all three of us are looking forward to returning to a bit of scheduling, though the younger boy is grumbling a tiny bit about going back to school. It’ll be interesting to see how this year goes, with one in public school and the other completely ensconced in homeschooling. At least now we’ll have access to a coop for gifted kids; last winter all coops were full and we were a bit…adrift.

So please, someone remind me in April or May of next year to not forget those three weeks in August when we’re all likely to be at each others’ throats. It’s kinda hard to ramp up for Back to School when you’ve barricaded yourself in the bathroom, praying for peace and quiet.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Jen writes over at Laughing at Chaos, where she is giving away two copies of her newly released book, If This is a Gift, Can I Send it Back?: Surviving in the Land of the Gifted and Twice-Exceptional, in honor of International Week of the Gifted 2012.

4 thoughts on “The End of Summer Blues

  1. This is why we (as homeschoolers) start back in July! I’ve had enough of open ended days.

  2. I always do better when I leave the house and go someplace, anyplace. The store, the park, or a museum for a few hours each day. I still think I’m an introvert, but I just need a change of scenery and a chance to focus on something outside of myself and my to-do list and my daughter and her very demanding imagination.

  3. Other than the mandatory visiting of relatives in other states, and dance classes and dance recital, I rarely schedule any summer activities and just kind of play it by ear.

  4. Jen, †††† Wow I get that! Last year I had my eldest home for homeschooling high school. I had my two youngest going to public school so my eldest liked that. The only rub came when one of the younger two had to take a day off because they were home sick. It kinda throws the schedule off and the focus of the day off. But overall it worked nicely.

    Sincerely, Anna

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

