40 Days of Gratitude, Day 20: ABNA gets announced…hmmm

Happy ½ way mark to all those trying to finish 40 days of gratitude. This is so much harder than I thought it would be. Not just remembering to post daily, but finding something new to be grateful for without relying on the “family” card (’cause I am ALWAYS thankful for them).

Today, I am focusing on ABNA. This contest started in February. The quarter-finals are being announced at some point today (they go from 10,000 entries to 500 based on a 300 word pitch and a 5000 word excerpt).

Now I am not saying I made it through. But I am saying I am thankful I put myself out there in the first place. This contest forced me to do some really great things….including:

  • Finish the rewrites on the novel
  • Prepare a strong pitch
  • Write a bio (I’ve been avoiding that one)
  • Join a couple of critique groups

Pretty cool stuff for just one contest. Was it worth it? You know, regardless of outcome I would say it was very worth it. As I reread the novel I can honestly say I am very satisfied with it. Plus I am used to the whole up and down process of critiquing now – another good thing.

 

How about you guys…what are you thankful for?

And – if anyone else entered ABNA, please make sure you let me know how it turns out for you.

3 thoughts on “40 Days of Gratitude, Day 20: ABNA gets announced…hmmm

  1. I’d thought about entering a couple of different contests, but . . . I haven’t. Why? I don’t know. I really should step outside of my box.

Leave a Reply

