40 Days of Gratitude, Days 34 and 35: Devotion and Friendship

“I awoke this morning with devout thanksgiving for my friends, the old and the new.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

I want to thank everyone who has taken the time to call, email and leave comments here and on Facebook. I am humbled by everyone’s stories about their experiences with gratitude. I am so happy you guys got as much as I have from it.

For this post I wanted to focus on one of my loyal readers – and a very dear friend. I met her in my high school physics class. We had the most boring teacher imaginable. Monotone, uninterested in his subjct matter…a lousy combination. My seat was on the back table, unusual for me (I preferred to sit up front like every good geek!). She sat next to me – a quiet new student I didn’t recognize. It took all of twenty seconds for us to become very good friends…and we have been for the last 25 years.

She was the maid of honor at my wedding, present for the birth of my children and the strength I needed to get through the darkest time I’ve experienced in my adulhood – the near death of my husband due to a brain aneurysm.

We lost touch sometime during the last ten years, life taking us on different paths. We maintained limited contact with the occasional call or email, Christmas Cards and through mutual friends. Finally, after a long time between calls and letters, we found each other on Facebook.

Pani is a loyal friend. Her regular comments throughout the 40 days experience has always given me the jolt I needed to keep going. All of her comments have focused on discernment, her faith and the gentle ways in which His love is demonstrated around her every day.

So today, with a mere five days left in our social experiment, I want to thank Pani for being an amazing friend and a true inspiration in my life.

print0001

 

And just for fun…here’s picture of us from High School – Pani is on the right…

 

(I know – scary isn’t it!!! And yes, we were dressed for a jungle themed party in the 80’s….need I say more!!!)

2 thoughts on “40 Days of Gratitude, Days 34 and 35: Devotion and Friendship

Leave a Reply

