Backing Off the Ledge

Today was a good day…at least it started out that way.  I wrote a ton in the morning before work, and at lunch, pulling in almost 1500 words by the early afternoon.  I knew I would write at least another 1000 at night and make REAL progress on my WiP.  I was EXCITED.

And then it hit…the what-ifs.  You know, those incessant thoughts (what-if I can’t find an agent, what-if I NEVER find an agent, what if I’m really a lousy writer) that start as a fleeting idea and quickly become a consuming fire that undermines your enthusiasm for writing.

So, despite my best efforts, and a whole lot of training in ridding myself of the what-ifs, I was wallowing…

Thankfully, I have lots of tricks to get me off the ledge.  So, here are my diversions that helped to conquer my doldrums…

  • Email exchanges with a very dear, back -me-off-the-ledge friend (There really are no words to thank you!!!)
  • The best super-hubby EVER
  • A trip to the bookstore 

And this is what I got…asheseternal1forest1

I KNOW WHAT I’M DOING THIS WEEKEND…

Besides writing, that is!

 

 

(And in case you are wondering…I am safely away from the ledge as of 10pm Thursday night!)

What do you do to pull yourself off the ledge when the what-ifs hit?

Leave a comment…I love hearing from people.

9 thoughts on “Backing Off the Ledge

  1. I usually wallow in them for awhile before I remember this: As long as we keep ourselves — as writers — open to constructive criticism and believe there is always something we can learn from others who are a few steps ahead of us, we will continue to improve.

    With a positive attitude and willingness to learn, even the lousiest writer on earth can become great.

    Good luck.

    (P.S. You’re not a lousy writer. I’ve read lousy writing. None of it has been on this blog.)🙂

  2. I don’t know how I pull myself off the ledge… I guess I just get tired off looking down and eventually wander away. A little shopping at the bookstore probably wouldn’t hurt either… I am very jealous of your purchases, and look forward to reading full reviews.

  3. I ignore everything when I’m on the ledge. But then I read a billion blogs about writing and start to get excited about it again.
    I have to check out that Forest of Hands and Teeth. I had it for a couple weeks, from the library, but didn’t open it then had to return it because there is a huge waitlist.

    1. Christine Fonseca

      Thanks for all the great comments everyone…I am looking forward to reading my books and pulling myself all the way off the ledge!!!

  4. Back away slowly. Deep breaths. Emailage. Ventage. Reading. Movie watching. Chocolate. Ginger ale. More email. More venting. More chocolate. Chatting with pals.

    That’s how I keep the ledge away. Sadly, it’s a daily battle. Hang in there girl! And when you find yourself on the ledge, maybe we can have a little party? Yes?😀😀😀 Cuz you know I’ve taken up residence on The Ledge. (lol)

  5. Pingback: WiP Wednesday, 4/29 « The Musings of Christine Fonseca

Leave a Reply

