Character Crushes…

I have a confession to make…I am subject to character crushes. 

That’s right, I admitted it.  I simply love some of the characters in the books I read.  Like Edward in Twilight(okay – so EVERYONE has a character crush on him), or Cabe in Lisa McMann’s Wake and Fade,and Seth in Melissa Marr’s Wicked Lovely.  Of course, one of my favorite character crushes in a friend’s WIP. 

But what makes a good character crush.  Is just about a character’s “hotness” factor?  Or is it something more?

For me, it is more than just looks – though I am not one to shrug off a HAWT character.  Actions are important to me, as well as integrity.  And the more complex a character, the better.  In fact, through in a tortured past and I am hooked.   

So, let me ask you…Do you have any character crushes?  Who are they?  What makes them your crush???  I’ll graph the answers (in honor of my friend Elana) for a future post, so be sure to leave a comment.

3 thoughts on “Character Crushes…

  1. Ric Noell

    I have to admit a certain perverse crush on Abby Sciuto, the hot goth forensic tech on NCIS. The’s 88 kinds of cute, measures hotter than our own sun, and has more than enough brains & integrity to back it all up & round out the package. The actress who plays her, Pauley Perrette, is not to terribly harsh to look at either, but Abby’s the whole ball of wax. Black wax. Probably dripped from candles. A little at a time. OK, cold shower time. Sorry!

  2. Isn’t it funny how that works? I can’t remember which novel it was, but it was by LaVyrle Spencer, that had a hero who made me swoon.

    This is sad, but Colleen McCullough got me with Father Ralph in The Thorn Birds, too.

    I’d like to say that it’s tall, dark and handsome, but I don’t think visual description is what draws readers in.

    Several of the people who have read my mss fall head over heels for Nick (the hero), and I think it has to do with compassion and devotion. I’m not sure.

  3. I love this topic! Mostly because I too am subject to these. Not so much Edward, but Cabe, yes. Amongst others and I have to say, the first project I started when I rediscovered writing had a character who was no longer in the story though he came up periodically and I somehow found myself so infatuated with him I had to go back and write up an entire back story involving him and let me tell you …. that ended up being a 300K something word back story. Ummm, yeah, maybe it was love and not infatuation… hahaha, shhh don’t tell my husband!

Leave a Reply

