Another Fabulous Read…

forest1I finished reading The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan last night.  And all I can say is…WOW.  I first heard of the book from Leah Clifford, who wrote a little post reviewing it.  Then my friend Elana read it, also singing its praises.

So, when I was struggling with my own writing blues, I treated myself to the book.

And I am so glad I did.

It was nothing short of amazing – right up there with Hunger Games. (And if you know me at all, you know how much I LOVE that book).

The writing is beautiful (I am quickly becoming a fan of first person present tense – so much so I just wrote a short story that way), the story mesmerizing and emotional.

This is another one of those books that I am going to keep handy to help when I need to revamp the emotional context of a scene – because wow, Carrie Ryan really understands emotional context.

Another book that makes me strive to be a better writer…

Next on the list – Wintergirls (thanks Elana!).  What else do I need to add to the list?  Be sure to leave me a comment with your suggestions.  Summer is coming on and I feel a reading binge in my future!

4 thoughts on “Another Fabulous Read…

Leave a Reply

