WiP Wednesday, 5/20…HELP!!!

j04394661Happy WiP Wednesday.  I was hoping to report amazing word counts, progress on edits and that sort of thing.

Instead, I am reporting a little about my current mental state…

After finishing Agent of Chaos, I took a look at my calendar and realized just how soon I needed to start posting my new project for my online crit group.  I have roughly 25 days until I post the first 15 pages of my new project…that’s right, it isn’t a typo, 25 DAYS.  

Holy Toledo…I have to post 15 pages…the first 15 pages in a mere 25 days (and BTW, I never usually start writing at the beginning of a story.)

Needless to say, this revelation threw me into a major state of panic.  But, never being one to wallow TOO long, and never being able to back down from a  challenge, I sucked it up and started writing. (thanks, in part, to inspiration provided by Adam Lambert and American Idol – go figure!)

I chose the Goth Angel story because, quite frankly, I liked the concept the best. 

And I started writing.

And deleting.

And writing some more. 

Until finally, over the weekend, I started to understand my characters and the story. 

So, now I have the part of the first chapter finished, some sense of where the heck the storyline is going and a good plan to finish a rough draft over the next month or so.

Whew.  Maybe I’ll even post a little of the beginning next week…Hmmm.

As for the other goals – editing, etc.  Those have been a little slower.  I haven’t really done much with Chaos Within or Agent of Chaos – something I plan to remedy this week.

What about you guys… did you achieve your goals?

Author: Christine Fonseca

Critically acclaimed author of edgy YA fiction, psych thrillers, and nonfiction self-help books. Drinker of skinny vanilla lattes. Lover of life. Titles include Lacrimosa, Transcend (both for YA) and The Girl Guide (non fiction for teen girls)

10 thoughts on “WiP Wednesday, 5/20…HELP!!!”

  1. I did, actually. This month’s goal has just been writing 350 words minimum every day, and so far, golden 🙂

    I’ll work on some tougher goals next month 😉

    Hope the draft behaves itself!

  2. We’ve got Act 1 outlined for our WIP and we’ve got a pretty healthy start on chapter 1. Yay?

    Oh well, at least we’re writing.

  3. I’m so happy to hear about your progress! 🙂 Starting something new is the hardest… oy. You rock!

    I’ve actually been meeting my goals this week (yaaaaay!) and am almost done with my re-writes. Just some Cntr+F’ing looking for the words I love to overuse (“clutched” and “seemed”…wtf?), and I’ll be ready to go.

    Elana–Happy Whatever Wednesday! 😉 Or whatever…

  4. Goals? What’s that?? I’m so glad you got a little inspiration and a good start! Thank you, American Idol! lol!

  5. Hey Merrilee – thanks for stopping by the blog. I think it is great you’ve reached your goals…thanks for ALL the support with my new WIP.

    Lisa – progress is progress….right (Besides, makes waiting a little easier – or so they say)

    Michelle – I know what you’ve been working on…and its AWESOME!

    Elana – What.ev.er!!! (picture my teenager and her friends saying this…hysterical – and very teen-esque)

    Rebecca – Yep, this new stuff is really throwing me at the moment!

    Nisa – AI was “inspirational” last night too (LOL)

  6. Hey, kudos for you for plowing ahead and getting the work done. I have written little since I got home from the conference – it’s been crazy busy. And then, last night, at bedtime, I had to sit down and write what was in my head about a brand new idea, a golden idea, one with a future. Ha. Probably just an evil snare sent to pull me away from the current WIP! But I will nurture it a little, just the same.

  7. I love hearing about your progress and how just moving forward you always end up with something great.
    I’ll be cheating on my WiP with a short story till further notice. But it’s something!

  8. Whoo congrats on getting started on something new! As for editing – I have just come to accept that it is a sslllooowww process, and trying to be more patient with my WIP and myself.

Leave a Reply

