Blog Chain Time: A Little Romance

BLOG CHAINIt’s Blog Chain time again. 

Sandra started this time, with the following topic:

Do you write romantic relationships in your books? If so, what do you do to show the attraction between your characters? What problems do your characters encounter? What qualities do you think make a romantic relationship work in fiction? If you wish, feel free to include examples of your favorite couples.

Only passions, great passions, can elevate the soul to great things.

— Denis Diderot

 I don’t consider myself a romance writer in any way.  Yet, I do consider myself a romantic person – and that romanticism seeps into my writing most of the time.

The dictionary defines romantic as an adjective meaning passionate or fervent.  Therefore, although we typically think of romantic relationships as “love” or erotic relationships – the broader meaning could include any relationship in our stories that are passionate and intense in nature.  And in that respect. all of my stories are romantic.

But, that’s not exactly what Sandra was asking, and I digress.  Sandra wanted to know about the more typical romantic relationships within our stories.  I do sprinkle every story I write with an element of romance – at least in my novels. 

I write young adult stories.  And one of the core events for young adults is first love and early romance.  I think that is why it finds its way into every storyline I write, even though I never start off planning to write a YA Romance story.  It’s just one of those themes that really resonate with my intended audience. 

Sandra’s other questions centered around the way in which we showed attraction and conflict.  Like anything, both are shown through the thoughts and behaviors of the characters. 

Because YA characters are typically intense in their feelings (a by product of their age), attraction usually has an almost obsessive quality to it.  And while my characters don’t usually cross the “sex” line in the physical nature of their relationships, there is a strong physical element – the first kiss, the nature of their touch, the mental aspect of their physical attraction – all of this is woven throughout their intimate scenes.

Conflict is a necessary part of fiction.  As many people before in the chain have said, it drives the plot forward.  Given the intense emotional nature of romance, it is not surprising that conflict within the romance is a nice way to keep things moving as well.  Betrayal, denial, torment – all of these are enhanced when there is a romantic dynamic to them.  

At the start of the post I mentioned that I was a romantic at heart.  And I really am – I ultimately want the couples to wind up together, regardless of the things standing in their way.  I want them to overcome tough odds, only to find out that they are stronger together than apart. 

For that reason, most of my stories ultimately have the romantic pairing end up together – even if it is in the mos tragic of ways.  In my first books, the CHAOS TRILOGY, the main character ultimately finds her way back to her romantic partner – but not without major internal transformation on the part of both characters.  In my current project, FORBIDDEN REDEMPTION, the romantic partners never end up together – although their relationship is the catalyst for significant internal transformation as well.

(And after all, doesn’t any romantic relationship require the people involved to undergo a personal transformation to move that relationship from romance to love – I think so.)

Okay, so the last part of Sandra’s question…romantic couples in literature that I like…Hmmm. 

In YA literature, I really like Jannie and Cabe in the WAKE series, and Seth and Ash in the WICKED LOVELY series. 

In adult literature, Romeo and Juliet has always been one of my favorite examples of first love and the passion (or tragedy) inherent in it(in fact, this tragedy has been very influential in my current WiP).

Okay, enough of my take on this…Whew!  For more, hop on over to Kat’s blog to read her wonderful post. Or visit Michelle’s post, and see what she has to say.

I’m picking the topic in July…Mwahahahaha – so be sure to keep your eyes open for that!

8 thoughts on “Blog Chain Time: A Little Romance

  1. Great post!

    And you worried about what you’d say!🙂

    I completely forgot about classic lit when I answered the favorite couples question. I remembered being fascinated by the off-the-wall tragic relationship between Hamlet and Ophelia.

    That would be one of my favorite subplot romances.

  2. great post! crap, I’m next LOL I love Seth and Ash too – wow, I don’t know if I’ll have enough room to put all my favorite couples😀 I’m not going to say too much here because I have to write my post next, and I’ve got nothing as it is😉 but awesome post as always!!!

  3. Read a great adult sporting comedy that follows the fortunes of Paul Marriot, the secretary of the Barnstorm Village Sunday soccer team and coach of a school cricket team in Yorkshire, England. The story describes the remarkable camaraderie between the players and supporters of this little club and their desire to achieve success. Nonetheless, the team is known more for its antics off the field, rather than their performances on it.

    During his time at the club he meets and becomes involved with Emma Potter, who is the sister of James Potter, a major player for their bitter rivals Moortown Inn. Thus, begins an entangled web of romance and conflict. He also begins working at Derry High School, a school with a poor reputation of academic success, where he becomes coach of the school cricket team. Here he develops an amazing relationship with the children and embarks on an epic journey.
    http://www.eloquentbooks.com/ClassesApart.html

  4. You’re so right about young adults. I’ve never thought about their relationships that way before. I should interview you or something, you know so much about that age group. Everything I write is what I made up and hope is correct. Gah!

    Great post! I’m going to bookmark it and come back later when I need to write something “romantic” between my teen characters.

  5. Ah yes, there’s nothing so intense as first love. It sticks with us even when we move on to other relationships. I guess that’s because we have to learn how to love, or at least how to make it work.

  6. Nice post! And good reminder that young love is usually more angsty and obsessive. I forgot about that, and I think I keep reigning in the emotions. Sometimes completely.

Leave a Reply

