School’s out for summer…..

waveRemember when you were a kid and had summer’s off?  Remember the excitement of the last day.  Well, when I became a mom I decided to forgo the big career plans and work in schools…AND I AM SO GLAD I DID!!!  I mean, seriously, 8 weeks off.  WOO HOO!!! 

And it just so happens that today was the last day of school for the kids.  Oh sure, I actually have to work Monday and Tuesday.  But, when I can go to work in shorts and a t-shirt, and I’m just packing…well, it doesn’t really feel like working, does it?

So, in honor of the last day of school, I thought I would make a list of the things I want to accomplish this summer:

  1. Read at least 10 books
  2. Finish the current WiP, revisions on CHAOS WITHIN and AGENT OF CHAOS
  3. Finish the NF book proposal
  4. At least a week’s worth of surf trips to the beach – probably more
  5. Deep clean the house (not fun, but very necessary) – including the windows
  6. Lots of family time, hanging by the pool and making smores by the fire pit at night
  7. Several free movies at the local theatre! (Always fun) And a few “Movies in the Park” nights (Also fun)
  8. Reinstate my 10 mile run/walk per day (I miss those)

I think that is more than enough to keep me busy, rejuvenate, and get those creative juices going.

What about you guys?  What are you planning? Are you taking any time off this summer?

5 thoughts on “School’s out for summer…..

  1. This is the first summer I’ve had off since I was in college, unless you count my maternity leaves (I don’t!). My big plan is to finish the first draft of our WIP and read, read, read.

    So fun!

  2. 10 MILES? Are you insane?? Ha ha! I went and played tennis today and it was actually fun. Of course, I was playing with my 10 yo son and he’s no good… I really am mediocre. Oh well. Great goals! I’m just trying to do MORE than write and read and spend time online. Movie nights, playing outside, the pool, anything. I should do a goals post…

  3. I’m so jealous!!!😀

    I think the husband I are going to try to go on our first-ever cruise this summer (yay!). Work has been draining, and we need 4 days of non-stop buffet-ing and sunshine.

    Anyone else been on a cruise? Are they awesome?🙂

    Congrats on your new-found freedom, Christine!

  4. Wow, what a list! Sounds like you have an awesome summer ahead of you. Mine is filled with editing… and more editing, getting my second novel, Behold the Dawn, ready to to be its publication deadline this fall. No surfing for me!

  5. Christine Fonseca

    Lisa – that is a great plan – and I want to read the Wip!

    Elana – yep – insane (at least that is what my body will be screaming at me in the beginning…shin splints HURT)

    Rebecca – I have been on many cruises…and LOVE THEM so much. Enjoy.

    K.M. – Yeah for getting book 2 ready to go. Good luck with everything.

Leave a Reply

