Fun Friday – Whatcha Reading?

Happy Friday everyone.  Week two of summer gone (too fast, I might add).  I spend a lot of my time during the summer reading.  Over the last two weeks I have finished five books and a ton of research for my NF book.  Here are the books I finished reading  – 

ashesThe City of Ashes

  Cassandra Clare has done it again.  This is book 2 in her Mortal Instruments series.  And no, I’m not giving any spoilers in case someone besides me still hasn’t read it.  Suffice to say it is FANTASTIC.  I’ll be reading City of Glass next week.

 

 

pb_wintergirlsbook03_59854d Wintergirls

Another great book by Laurie Halse Anderson.  This one tackles eating disorders.  And it is amazing.  Having both been someone who suffered from an eating disorder when I was in high school, and being a psychologist who deal with this with other girls, I can attest to how accurate this story was – – beyond accurate.  She captured every person I have ever known who deals with this issue.  And she managed to tell a heart wretching sstory in such a way as to leave the reader somewhat hopefull.  Truly brilliant.

 

catalystCatalyst

 

Also by Laurie Halse Anderson.  I picked this book because it deals with a brilliant girl who is having significant emotional difficulties dealing with the pressures she feels as a college bound senior.  I work with these kinds of kids also (and yes, I was one and could really relate to the MC).  Laurie again did a great job creating a believable story that deals with the pressures many of our brilliant youth feel regarding school. 

 

lg-sundaysAtTiffanys

Sundays at Tiffany’s

This was one of my guilty pleasure reads.  Written by James Patterson, it is not a typical murder-related story.  Actually it is a tender romance.  The reason I picked it has to do with an interesting story – you see about two years before the book was published, and long before I decided to write down the ideas running through my thoughts, I had this idea for a story about a girl who dreams about her true love.  Her love does the same – and they wind up meeting.  And of course, falling in love. 

This book, though diffferent in many ways, reminds me of that idea.  The tagline says it all “What if your imaginary friend was your one true love”  I finally read it and LOVED IT.  In fact, some of the literary devices used gave me ideas for my current revision of one of my books.

BACoverSm

Burning Alive

I met Jim and Shannon Butcher, brother and sister-in-law of the amazing Julie Butcher-Fedynich, at a book signing at my favorite bookstore in San Diego.  They are terrific people.  The line for Jim was very long.  Shannon’s was slightly smaller – so I bought one of her books, had her sign it and chatted briefly.  I start reading it then, but with real life, and lots of other books in progress, I put it aside.

I finally had the chance to finish it this week.  Definitely a wonderful guilty pleasure.  Shannon writes paranormal romance.  I found the story-line intriguing and the romance…well…HOT.  A wonderful summer read. 

 

 I hope to get a lot more books read next week, both in YA and adult fiction.  I’ll do another post like this is a few weeks when I have something to report.  

What about you guys?  Have you been reading?

6 thoughts on “Fun Friday – Whatcha Reading?

  1. I’ve been reading a lot for research purposes, but I finally got through quite a list of titles. And now I’m reading Scott Westerfeld’s Midnighters, book 1. It’s fantastic. And all of these sound great too!

    And your blog looks so professional with the books and lines and stuff. *jealous face*

  2. yay! more books to add to my list😀 I’m hitting the library tomorrow to pick some up for my trip.😀 And ditto on what Elana said about the look of your blog – it’s awesome!

  3. Oooh, those books look really good. I’ve never read any Laurie Anderson Hale, but I keep meaning to add her to my list.

    I need to update my own reading list, somehow it’s been over a month again, but one of the BEST books that I recently read was, “The Silver Linings Playbook.”

  4. I finished this week: Silver Phoenix by Cindy Pon and The Chosen by…er… And Magic Study by Maria Snyder. I’m in the middle of Dull Boy and it’s been pretty good so far…

Leave a Reply

