More Great Reads…

Hey everyone – HAPPY FRIDAY!!!.  What a wonderful week it has been. I played with the family, watched Harry Potter 6, painted murals and finished major craft projects. But that isn’t all – I also finished four more books over the past couple of weeks.  So, here are my recent reads:

eclipseEclipse by Richard North Patterson

Another amazing read by Richard Patterson.  This time, he takes his legal thriller to the Nigerian Delta to look at the conflict over oil and its impact on that nation – and the world.  As always, the research involved in the book is impeccable.  I love reading his books because they always influence my view on larger world events.  This was no different.

 

 

cross ctryCross Country by James Patterson

I tend to read in themes…even when I don’t mean to.  It was no different with this book choice.  Truthfully, I picked it because I just like Alex Cross novels.  I know, they are fairly predictable – maybe even VERY predictable.  This one, however, was a little different, as the serial killer happens to be a horrible man who, yes, is involved with the crisis in Nigeria (see the theme thing happening!).  The book was different from many of his, and while it wasn’t my favorite of the Cross novels – I am very glad I read it and it did make me think!

 

city of glassCity of Glass by Cassandra Clare

So yes, obviously, I LOVED THIS BOOK.  It was a little predictable, but not in a bad way.  I just love her whole Mortal Instruments series and am really looking forward to her prequel trilogy.  I wish she could write it faster (hehe).  Her writing has helped me as I learn the art of writing in third person.  Every YA novelist – actually every writer I read helps me become a better writer.  Very true with Cassandra.  She is a true artist in my opinion.

madapple

 

Madapple by Christina Meldrum

I chose this book because I was asked if my first book in the Chaos trilogy was like it.  And while there are certain similarities, the books are more different than they are similar.

That being said, I am so glad I read it.  It is smart, thoughtful and thought-provoking.  Its unique writing style, with alternating POVs from first person present to a cross-examination during the main character’s trial for murder, inspired me in a very profound way (always nice when that happens).  Christina clearly conducted an amazing amount of research for this book – and the result was well worth it.  I hope to see more from this author soon.

Next up – the Libba Bray novels.  I should have those read and a review posted in the next couple of weeks.

So how about you guys…read anything interesting of late?

5 thoughts on “More Great Reads…

  1. Have to get my Recent Reads post up too! Just read a great book by David Cristofano called The Girl She Used To Be about a woman who has spent the majority of her life in the witness protection program. Not normally my genre, but I won it online. Really good.

  2. I’m reading The Help right now and it’s AMAZING. A must read for any aspiring author. Just beautifully written.

    Have a fabulous weekend!

  3. Christine Fonseca

    Elana – I got Madapple from the library…but I LOVED it, so I may wind up buying it…I like having those kind of books around for me to refer to at times.

    A nd Windy and Lisa – thanks for the reading ideas…I ALWAYS need new books to read.

    Right now I am finishing the Libba Bray series…and LOVING it!

Leave a Reply

