What I’ve learned…

n44Yesterday, my dear friend and critique partner, Elana Johnson,ask her readers the following question

What have you learned this week? Not how many words you wrote, or how many pages you edited or anything like that. What have you learned this week? About yourself, your writing, or the universe?

I thought about these questions all day, while I was at the beach, while I did the dishes, and while I tucked my children into bed.  I thought about my journey in writing and in life (yes, I know, I am prone to long moments of deep contemplation…it’s just what I do).  The questions became a point of focus for me.

And you know what I came up with, besides the fact that I am no where nearly as humorous as Elana…I really haven’t been paying attention to the journey enough lately. 

So, what have I learned?  In no particular order, here you go:

  • I am very blessed – I have a job, a home, a lovely family, my health and amazing friends.  I really have nothing to complain about (despite my occasional ranting).
  • Writing – not querying, not frantically checking email, not stressing over publication – but writing – is an amazing for of art. 
  • Life is full of miracles, if we just remember to pay attention.
  • Friends who support you are the most amazing gift Ev.Er
  • Meditation in all of its forms helps me REMEMBER to pay attention to the journey, and not stress over the destination.
  • I am a very obsessive person.  And balance is something I have to consciously work on.
  • Most of the time playing with the kids is much better therapy than anything else.
  • When in doubt, throw the kids – or yourself in the pool!!!

 So there you have it, my own list of the things I have learned.  Thanks Elana, for making me think!!!

And now its your turn…how would you answer?

5 thoughts on “What I’ve learned…

  1. Ah, I’m glad I made you think. See, I love to think. Sometimes I know it doesn’t seem like it, but I really do.

    I’m a very obsessive person too, and achieving that balance is a tightrope walk I’m still working on. Great list! Maybe I’ll go swimming today…

  2. I just wrote a post about something important I learned!🙂 How ironic🙂 I just learned that my story is better if I shift the focus…so back to rewrites!

    (PS: I LOVE THAT PICTURE!!!)

  3. Darn, I can’t see the pic for some reason.

    I think balance is so important and such a struggle. There are many days where what I write and the feedback that we get from our agent or editors really has an impact on how I feel and how I interact with people.

    My husband is always the one reminding me, it’s not the end of the world if your book doesn’t get published. We have so much to be thankful for, but I too am a little obsessive. It’s just really hard for me not to think about what’s going on with our writing.

  4. Oh no, you’re going to make me think! It’s too hot to do that and I’m supposed to be packing for a trip (instead of checking blogs). But I loved the throwing the kids (or myself) in the pool idea. Too bad we don’t have one.😦

  5. I love this post! And I agree. I have discovered that if I slow down and focus more on my family and God, that the inspiration for my writing will come. It’s when I obsessively write that I get stuck.

    Oh! And adding conflict to your story actually makes the writing easier.

    and also that I too, am not as funny as Elana. LOL

Leave a Reply

