I’m back…

Hey everyone!  I’m back after a much needed respite.  I spent the last week celebrating my daughter’s 13th birthday at the beach, hanging by the pool, hiding and writing (thank goodness for my crit partners who have provided more help than you can imagine on my new obsession), and reading.  In fact, I finished Rebel Angels and Sweet Far Thing by Libba Bray…but more on them later.

I also managed to crit a bunch of pages for my crit group, edit like crazy, enter some contests, sub some short stories, oh – and yes, I did write a few shiny new words too.

I stayed off line (well, other than checking my email a couple times a day).  I must say, taking a techno break was very rejuvenating!.  But I am wondering, was everyone gone?  I mean, seriously, I got NO emails.  I guess the waiting continues.

Oh well, at least I am rested and ready to start back at work next week. (I only work one day, but it counts…right?)

So, what did you guys do?  Did I miss any big news, or are you guys waiting as well?  How about techno-breaks – do you guys take them?  Lay it on me – I missed you guys and I NEED to catch up!!!

7 thoughts on “I’m back…

  1. Hi, Christine!😀 Glad you’re back, and happy to hear that you had fun.

    I have to admit… I loved unplugging for a bit, too. It made me feel very carefree, even though I love being plugged in. It’s a few things less to think about each day, which is like a vacation for your brain.

  2. I freaked out last year before I went on vacay. I thought I would die if I had to live a whole week without my computer or phone.

    Turns out, I loved it. But like all vacations, it was a nice “world” to visit, but I wouldn’t want to live there.
    🙂

    Nothing new here. Glad to see you’re back and rested and ready to take on the world of 13-year-olds.

  3. Glad you’re back. I take breaks all the time. I’ve decided I’m a “spurter.” Like I get on twitter in spurts. Like for a day. Then I’m off for a while. Then I get on this facebook kick for days. Then I’m off for a while. Blogging… Well, okay. I blog and read blogs everyday. That’s the worst for me. I’m a work in progress, what can I say?

    Glad you had a bit of a break.🙂

  4. Christine Fonseca

    Glad to here I didn’t miss much…I think I am taking a techno break once a monh or so…Hmm

    And Lisa – I LOVED Bray’s books. They better and better with each book!

  5. I loved Gemma, too. But Kartik. Sigh. There was a lot of crying for the TSFT. And I mean a lot of crying.😉

    I’m off tomorrow for the LA SCBWI conference, and I’ll be taking my laptop so I can–inspired by all the sessions–work on my shiny new (as in I just finished the preplanning) novel when I need downtime in the evening. It’s the two week family vacation I’m nervous about. Eek, my usual writing time will be majorly reduced. I might go into withdrawal. Is there a writer’s patch or something I can put on my arm to get me through it?😉

    Glad to hear, Christine, you had a great break. At least you didn’t come back to hundreds of useless emails. That’s worse than no emails.

  6. Christine Fonseca

    Hey Stina – I’m with you on Kartik! Have fun at SCBWI. I tried to go this year, but RL obligations kind of precluded it…maybe next year!

Leave a Reply

