Blog Chain: Words of Wisdom (20 or less please)

BLOG CHAINIt’s that time again.  Cole started us off with this topic.

Pretend you are addressing a crowd of aspiring authors eager to soak in your words of knowledge. The problem is, you’ve only been given a time slot of five seconds. In one sentence (no more than 20 words), please summarize the most important words of wisdom you can impart.

You can elaborate and address questions only in the comments section.

Wow – this one was tough.  All of the people before me gave such great advice.  But, never to be one to back away from a challenge….here’s my advice:

Strive for authenticity when writing – with your voice, your emotions and your actions.  The rest will take care of itself.

(Ha – exactly 20 words!)

Check out Kat’s advice yesterday, and Sarah’s advice tomorrow.

Like Cole, I will be collecting all of the advice, both through the chain and left in my comments, and blogging it on August 31st.  Be sure to leave your writerly advice.  Who knows, it may be the thing that gets one of us through the day!!!

Have a great week…

18 thoughts on “Blog Chain: Words of Wisdom (20 or less please)

  1. Christine Fonseca

    BJ and Michelle – I know, a collection of the advice would be SO COOL!

    Elana – seriously, we got to watch out for our weird twin-thing…

    Beth – LOVE IT, and couldn’t agree more.

  2. Wow! Everyone’s advice has been so great! Christine, you struck a chord here. When I wrote my first novel, the writing was stiff and lacked emotion. Why? Because I was trying to be “literary” and not letting my voice come through in the writing. As I wrote more, I overcame that obstacle, but it is SO important to let your voice be strong!

Leave a Reply

