A Review of From the Query to the Call by Elana Johnson

3D cover2Happy Friday everyone!!!  Yesterday I got to spend some virtual time with one of my favorite authors, Elana Johnson.  Her interview was fantastic – no surprises there.

Today I get to talk about her ebook, From the Query to the Call.  Man-oh-man, I just don’t know where to start.  I NEED this book – now, before, and in the future.  It is a one-stop shop for how to write a query, how to send off pages to uber agent, and how to handle the call.

I started the query game a year ago with my first novel.  I scoured the internet and book stores looking for information on writing queries.  More importantly, I looked for samples.  Being a strong visual learner, samples are so much more helpful than how-to lists.

And once I researched, I madly started writing and sending out my queries.  We all can guess how that went…yep, I exploded in a blaze of glory.  Within a month I realized I had no idea what I was doing and I started looking – and begging for help.

Of course, Elana and the QT forum came to the rescue.  With the help of the people on the forum, and the samples on the main site, I learned how to write a query.  Fast forward a few month.  It is now time to query a new project.  What did I do?  Yep, I bugged Elana…AGAIN.

I sure could have used this book.  Thankfully, Elana saw the void in the writing niche and filled it.

From the Query to the Call not only provides great information, a bazillion clickable links to samples of queries and other information, and a complete path to getting an agent – it does so with a fresh twist.  Elana carefully explains HOW to write a query, what the major problems are with queries, and – for the visual learners like me – she demonstrates what she means by showing queries before and after revision, complete with her notes.

But her ebook does not end there.  It takes the writer through the query trenches from sending out the first query, to the call with Ms. Uber-Agent.  I really loved the section on the call.  Elana interviewed several authors about their personal experiences with the call.  Be sure to check it out (*wink*) – I just love all of the authors she interviewed!

From th Query to the Call is not only filled with amazing content.  It is also THE standard for ebooks (in my opinion).  The layout and overall look is fabulous, and she made use of the ebook format by using several links.  It is really everything an ebook should be.

Elana Johnson’s From the Query to the Call officially launches on Monday, 9/14.  Check out her website for more informaion.  You really won’t regret it.  This is the ONE tool EVERY writing should have in their toolbox!!!

One thought on “A Review of From the Query to the Call by Elana Johnson

Leave a Reply

