Daring to Believe

adventureWriting is an interesting adventure.  As artistic people, we are confronted with a measure of our fears on an almost daily basis.  We pour a piece of ourselves onto the paper, allow our dearest critique partners to bleed it dry before showing it to others.  And the “others” we show it to are charged with the responsibility to judge this very subjective piece of hearts.

Yep – it takes a lot of courage to be a writer.

As most of you know, my real life has been a bit hairy this week.  And I have spent a lot of time talking with various writer friends about confidence – or the lack there of – that some of us feel from time to time.  In the midst of these conversations, I realized that I don’t typically have a confidence problem in my real life.  I am clear about my strengths in my job, and proceed most days without even a hint of insecurity.

This doesn’t seem to translate to my writing life.  More often than not, I find myself having to tame the beast inside – you know, the one that strips away pieces of your confidence one word at a time; the one that says “You’re not a good enough writer”, or “What were you thinking – you’ll never publish a book.” 

I read a blog post on Monday that said that writing is an act of courage – I believe this whole heartedly.  It is probably the most courageous thing I have ever done (and, by the way, I have swam with sharks…literally).  Check out the article.  I think Dani Shapiro does a great job of talking about this issue.

The bottom line for me is that the only way to survive long term in this artist field is to believe that we have the talent to do so.  And we must surround ourselves with our own personal cheerleaders – those people who can remind us of our talents, help us slay the beast inside, and restore our nerve when it just gets too hard.

In honor of my own cheer squad – and you know exactly who you are – thank you for the things you do everyday to remind me that I will see my book in print one day!

6 thoughts on “Daring to Believe

  1. How funny, you and Elana have “believing” posts today. I bet you planned it, didn’t you?

    And I’m with you. There is a level of self-confidence you have to fight to keep. It’s a tough battle a lot of the time, but if you fall into that hole of negativity, it is that much harder to crawl out and reclaim your self-confidence.

    Having a good network of those who believe in you helps too!

    P.S. I believe in you Christine😀

  2. We believe in you, Christine! And agree completely that writing is a scary endeavor. It takes a lot of courage, a lot of heart and a lot of perseverance to get a book published. Thank goodness we have writing friends to help us out along the way.

  3. LOL Windy, I thought the same thing when I read Christine’s post.

    Just remember…you are your own worst critic. That can be a good thing and a bad thing. Just keep believing in yourself and surround yourself with believers (see ElanaJ’s post.)🙂

  4. I think having confidence in artistic pursuits is so difficult because the end product is so difficult to quantify and judgment of it can be so subjective. That being said, you’re right – the only answer is to believe in yourself and surround yourself with enough people to back you up on the bad days.

  5. Christine Fonseca

    LOL! You know, Elana and I talked about believing in yourself last night…and low and behold…we have “believing” posts!

Leave a Reply

