Getting to know you…

j0438382I have new readers to my blog these days, and I just realized I do not know you guys.  So, I thought I’d borrow an idea from my Blog Chain buddies and post some questions to get us familiar with one another.  Here you go:

WHERE ARE YOU FROM?

WHAT DO YOU WRITE? 

HOW MANY YEARS HAVE YOU BEEN WRITING? 

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE FOOD?

WHAT ARE YOU FAVORITE AUTHORS/BOOKS?  OR BEST THING YOU’VE READ LATELY?

FAVORITE MOVIES AND/OR TV SHOWS?

WHAT IS YOUR SECRET TALENT?  (I am talking about junior high, sitting in the cafeteria type talents, like flipping your eyelid inside out.  Yes, a boy in my class did that.  Yes, it was gross)

SINGLE? MARRIED? CHILDREN? PETS?  IMAGINARY FRIENDS?

WHAT IS  THE MOST UNUSUAL THING THAT HAS HAPPENED TO YOU?

ANYTHING ELSE YOU WOULD LIKE TO ADD?

Okay, now it’s my turn to answer these:

WHERE ARE YOU FROM? Southern California

WHAT DO YOU WRITE?  YA fiction, mostly paranormal.  I also write Nonfiction books regarding the needs of gifted children

HOW MANY YEARS HAVE YOU BEEN WRITING?  I have written things for a long time – as part of my job, as a way to work through things, etc.  But I have only been seriously writing for about a year

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE FOOD? Ha, too many to name – though I am particularly fond of seafood

WHAT ARE YOU FAVORITE AUTHORS/BOOKS?  OR BEST THING YOU’VE READ LATELY? I read a lot of YA and Hunger Games is on of my all time favs.  Richard North Patterson, author of Excile and Esclipe, is on of my favorite authors.  He writes incredible legal thrillers with amazing research.

FAVORITE MOVIES AND/OR TV SHOWS? I run the gamut  on TV shows from reality TV (a la American Idol and Hells Kitchen) to dramatic series like Numbers.  Movies – I loved Batman Begins and The Dark Knight, as well as Blood Diamond, and movies in a similar genre.  There are others –  but you get the drift

WHAT IS YOUR SECRET TALENT?  (I am talking about junior high, sitting in the cafeteria type talents, like flipping your eyelid inside out.  Yes, a boy in my class did that.  Yes, it was gross)  Oh sure, ask the weird stuff – well, I used to be able to tie a cherry stem into a knot with my tongue.  I can also roll my tongue to look like a large clam shell – I know, gross…

SINGLE? MARRIED? CHILDREN? PETS?  IMAGINARY FRIENDS? I’ve been married for 21 years.  We have two children – girls, ages 9 and 13.  We have had pets, but they have all died and my husband really doesn’t want any more.  I have too many imaginary friends to count – that is why I write about them!

WHAT IS  THE MOST UNUSUAL THING THAT HAS HAPPENED TO YOU? Yeah…I lead a very mundane life, other than the occasional difficult case at work.  So, nothing interesting to add here I think.

ANYTHING ELSE YOU WOULD LIKE TO ADD? Just that I am excited to really get to know you guys…

Okay – your turn.  Answer some or all in the comments.  I’m going to pick the most interesting tidbits to discuss in a future blog.  Can’t wait to get to know you guys…

6 thoughts on “Getting to know you…

  1. WHERE ARE YOU FROM? Originally from northern California, but live in Utah now.

    WHAT DO YOU WRITE? So far, its been all young adult set in earlier days (not quite historic)

    HOW MANY YEARS HAVE YOU BEEN WRITING? For at least 25 years, maybe longer. I’ve written non-fiction for longer than that, since I was in high school.

    WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE FOOD? Italian. Almost anything with pasta, cheese, and tomato gravy.

    WHAT ARE YOU FAVORITE AUTHORS/BOOKS? OR BEST THING YOU’VE READ LATELY? I like techno-thrillers and young adult novels. My all time favorite novel is “To Kill A Mockingbird.” I also love most of John Steinbeck’s novels. Lately, I’ve found Chris Stewart’s techno-thriller novels. They’re great.

    FAVORITE MOVIES AND/OR TV SHOWS? I don’t watch a lot of TV or movies. However, I do watch some of the CSI or SVU shows, and lately I’ve grown attached to the Mentalist and Medium.

    WHAT IS YOUR SECRET TALENT? (I am talking about junior high, sitting in the cafeteria type talents, like flipping your eyelid inside out. Yes, a boy in my class did that. Yes, it was gross) I can’t think of anything kooky like that.

    SINGLE? MARRIED? CHILDREN? PETS? IMAGINARY FRIENDS? Married for nearly 35 years. 4 kids, 6 grand kids. No imaginary friends, at least I can’t see them any more.

    WHAT IS THE MOST UNUSUAL THING THAT HAS HAPPENED TO YOU? Can’t think of anything to put here either.

    ANYTHING ELSE YOU WOULD LIKE TO ADD? I love writing and have a novel I’m trying to market, but can’t seem to get the query right. I’m also about half way through my second novel. Maybe it will sell before the first one.

  2. WHERE ARE YOU FROM? Vancouver, WA. And I’m still there!🙂

    WHAT DO YOU WRITE? I write adult fantasy and science fiction.

    HOW MANY YEARS HAVE YOU BEEN WRITING? I’ve been writing forever, but have only been writing novels for the past 2-3 years.

    WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE FOOD? I used to love crab puffs more than life itself, but became allergic to shellfish. CURSES! So my new favorite food is lamb saag w/ garlic naan or raw salmon sashimi. Drooool. I know I cheated with two, but I love good food and couldn’t help myself!

    WHAT ARE YOU FAVORITE AUTHORS/BOOKS? OR BEST THING YOU’VE READ LATELY? Ooh! Too tough. I love Dan Simmons’ HYPERION, love J.R.R. Tolkien, love George R. R. Martin (by the way, does having two “R”s in your name automatically make you awesome?), and am now completely obsessed with the HUNGER GAMES trilogy. Ray Bradbury is the one who made me love writing and science fiction growing up.

    FAVORITE MOVIES AND/OR TV SHOWS? I just finished watching Avatar the Last Airbender and loved it, and also love Trigun, Neon Genesis Evangelion, Battlestar Galactica, True Blood, and shows like The Biggest Loser. I love geeky stuff, but also good reality TV gets me every time.

    WHAT IS YOUR SECRET TALENT? (I am talking about junior high, sitting in the cafeteria type talents, like flipping your eyelid inside out. Yes, a boy in my class did that. Yes, it was gross)

    I can sing in this really high chipmunk voice, and also flair my nostrils. The chipmunk voice drives cats crazy, as a side note.

    SINGLE? MARRIED? CHILDREN? PETS? IMAGINARY FRIENDS? I’m married with one cat, Fawkes.

    WHAT IS THE MOST UNUSUAL THING THAT HAS HAPPENED TO YOU? Hmmmm. I budget bungee jumped once. They were having a sale, and I was too cheap to try it otherwise. Too fun (and terrifying.)

    Also, Paul–congrats on your long marriage :D! It’s too much fun getting to know everyone.

    Thanks for this, Christine!

  3. colleen kosinski

    WHERE ARE YOU FROM?Born in Maine, but raised a Jersey girl.

    WHAT DO YOU WRITE? I write paranormal YA. I also have a non-fiction faery lore/baking book doing the rounds

    HOW MANY YEARS HAVE YOU BEEN WRITING? about 6

    WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE FOOD? I love seafood, sushi, anything different–and all desserts!

    WHAT ARE YOU FAVORITE AUTHORS/BOOKS? OR BEST THING YOU’VE READ LATELY?
    I read anything that involves the paranormal–Alice Hoffman, Neil Gaimen, Joe Hill…
    FAVORITE MOVIES AND/OR TV SHOWS?AI, Project Runway, British comedies, Ghosthunters.

    WHAT IS YOUR SECRET TALENT? (I am talking about junior high, sitting in the cafeteria type talents, like flipping your eyelid inside out. Yes, a boy in my class did that. Yes, it was gross)
    My elbows and legs are double jointed so I can make them do some crazy looking things.

    SINGLE? MARRIED? CHILDREN? PETS? IMAGINARY FRIENDS? Married my high school sweetheart(22 years), three boys, a doberman, dachshund, mourning dove (I raised from three days old), diamond dove, and a white dove.

    WHAT IS THE MOST UNUSUAL THING THAT HAS HAPPENED TO YOU? I was scent rolled by a wolf, spent the day with a voodoo priestess in New Orleans, held a shark?

  4. WHERE ARE YOU FROM? Nebraska

    WHAT DO YOU WRITE? Women’s fic

    HOW MANY YEARS HAVE YOU BEEN WRITING? For Ev Er

    WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE FOOD? Pineapple pizza

    WHAT ARE YOU FAVORITE AUTHORS/BOOKS? OR BEST THING YOU’VE READ LATELY?

    anything written by Jodi Picoult

    WHAT IS YOUR SECRET TALENT? I can bend my pinky finger so far back it nearly touches the back of my hand. And it doesn’t hurt.

    SINGLE? MARRIED? CHILDREN? PETS? IMAGINARY FRIENDS? M w 2K and 1D.

    BTW: I love British comedies and Ghosthunters, too.🙂

  5. WHERE ARE YOU FROM? England originally but now I live in Calgary, Canada

    WHAT DO YOU WRITE? YA contemporary (I just switched over from YA paranormal and urban fantasy)

    HOW MANY YEARS HAVE YOU BEEN WRITING? a couple

    WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE FOOD?

    mangos. Couldn’t get enough of them during my second pregnancy. Chocolate. Definitely chocolate.

    WHAT ARE YOU FAVORITE AUTHORS/BOOKS? OR BEST THING YOU’VE READ LATELY?

    Oh wow! There’s too many–all are YA of course. Sarah Dessen is one of my fav YA contemporary writers, and I love Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy series.

    WHAT IS YOUR SECRET TALENT?

    Uh, I don’t know. It’s that secret even from me.😉

    SINGLE? MARRIED? CHILDREN? PETS? IMAGINARY FRIENDS?

    Married with three children (9, 7, and 5 years old). No pets, but I told my kids if I’m ever published we’d get them a cat. If one of my books is turned into a movie, then we’d get a dog. Fortunately none of my books will nver be made into a movie.😀

  6. newtowritinggirl

    WHERE ARE YOU FROM? London, England

    WHAT DO YOU WRITE? Chick Lit

    HOW MANY YEARS HAVE YOU BEEN WRITING? On and mainly off for about 5 years. Completely ‘on’ for 7 months. Hence my name!

    WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE FOOD? Sweet and Sour Chicken Cantonese style. Hawaiian pizza. Chocolate. I can’t choose just one!

    WHAT ARE YOU FAVORITE AUTHORS/BOOKS? OR BEST THING YOU’VE READ LATELY? I mainly read chick lit so the usual suspects – Marian Keyes, Jane Green, Cecelia Ahearn etc. I read Charming Man by MK recently and loved it.

    FAVORITE MOVIES AND/OR TV SHOWS? The same kind of stuff as the books – chick flicks – How to loose a guy in 10 days and Dirty Dancing are constantly competing to be the top of my list.

    WHAT IS YOUR SECRET TALENT? (I am talking about junior high, sitting in the cafeteria type talents, like flipping your eyelid inside out. Yes, a boy in my class did that. Yes, it was gross)

    I don’t have any. None. Nadda. 😦

    SINGLE? MARRIED? CHILDREN? PETS? IMAGINARY FRIENDS?

    Technically single, but I’ve been with my boyfriend just over a year. I like to think my Mum’s cat is still mine (although I’ve actually not lived with her since she got him).

    WHAT IS THE MOST UNUSUAL THING THAT HAS HAPPENED TO YOU?

    I’ve spent the last 20 odd hours thinking about this, and really can’t come up with anything. I must go out and make unusual things happen to me!

    ANYTHING ELSE YOU WOULD LIKE TO ADD?
    Christine, I love your blog. Such a great idea getting people to answer these questions (and such fun answering them).

Leave a Reply

