Blog Chain: Oh The Places You Will Go

BLOG CHAINIt’s Blog Chain time again.  Sandra started this chain with a topic inspired by a recent trip she took.  Here is her topic:

What kind of journeys do your characters make? What effects do they have on the characters and the plot? Also, if you wish, please tell us about one of your personal journeys and how it changed you.

I’m going to start this topic with the last part of the question and my belief about books in general.  I have been fortunate to both travel a great deal and read – a lot.  Both things have broadened my world view.  And although I would not trade my real life experiences in unusual and beautiful places, I know it is through the stories I have read that the most profound changes inside have occurred.  Through books, I have walked a mile in many different shoes, and viewed the world from a myriad of perspectives.

That is the gift we give as authors – the gift of perspective.

And I believe we do this through the characters we create and the personal journeys they take.

In my stories I like to explore all of the aspects of humanity – from the good to the evil and all of the spaces in between.  As a result, my characters always make journeys – typically psychological ones.  

In my first novel, Chaos Within (which is currently in the “back-to-square-one” stage), the main character journeys through her own insanity only to discover the reality within her illness.  The journey is completely psychological, though a parallel universe does come into play.  Agent of Chaos, the second in the same series, takes this journey out of her head and explores the true nature of good and evil as the characters journey within themselves to discover how far they are willing to go for each other.  In the story, they test out the old adage “the needs of the many out weigh the needs of the few”.  Another psychological and philosophical journey.

Set in the age-old battle of good and evil, my current WiP, Lacrimosa, examines the meaning of love, sacrifice and true cost of redemption.  The characters journey through their own belief systems as they examine how far they are willing to go for the people they love.  

As you can tell, I like journeys – especially psychological ones!

I see my job as the storyteller to take my characters beyond their personal breaking points by challenging all of their belief systems and pushing them to the place beyond the reach of hope.  At that moment, they change.  They evolve. 

This is the ultimate journey all of the characters take in my stories – the journey through chaos to enlightenment.

What about you?  How do your characters grow and develop?  What journeys do they take?

For more on this great topic, check out Kat’s post yesterday and Sarah’s post tomorrow.

15 thoughts on “Blog Chain: Oh The Places You Will Go

  1. I am glad to have found you on Twitter.

    I truly wish that I could write fiction, your books sound intriguing.

    I am currently writing a novel about true love, marriage, children and the truths behind having a family.

    As I tie my book together a whole new element is emerging and is throwing me a bit off. So many of my friends are suffering intolerable marriages that they endure for their children, but is it better for the children to think that marriage is not about love?

    Now I understand why it takes so long to write a book – I think that this one may take a life time.

  2. OOoo great response! I’ve only read one of your books, but you do indeed love to send your poor characters through the ringer and watch them come out on the other side. And you do it awesomely by the way :D

  3. Your book sounds amazing!! And I, too, think the psychological journey in a story is just as important, if not more important, than any physical journey a character can take. Great post!

  4. What a great topic! The psychological journey is my favorite kind, too ;). This makes me want to read your books!

  5. Nice response. I would like to be able to craft a really good pyschological journey in my NaNo book this year, but I know it’s something I struggle with – trying to capture the emotions and thoughts in just the right way.

  6. Wow. You books definitely sound intense!!!

  7. Oooh, I agree that reading books can take you on a journeys as real as the ones that require plane tickets and passports.

    Love the way your describe your characters’ journeys in your books too!

  8. Yep, right up my alley. You and I must be on the same wavelength. :-)

  9. Excellent post! I am quite a fan of psychological journies as well.

  10. Great topic! I’m all about journeys too ~ the personal, emotional ones. Probably because those have been the most influential in my own life too.

  11. Pingback: Twitter Trackbacks for Blog Chain: Oh The Places You Will Go « The Musings of Christine Fonseca [christinefonseca.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

  12. I agree with you that books can put you inside someone else’s mind and give you a different perspective. That’s one of the things I really love about reading. I also agree that the psychological journey a character makes can also be more important than a physical one.

  13. Oh. Wow. I’m breaking out into a full-on sweat here! Great post Christine, I’m totally wondering HOW I’m going to address this topic and live up to the standards that have been set by everyone’s responses so far. I love that you use your writing to explore the deeper emotions and psychological experiences of your characters. I like to read a totally engaging story and find out later that there was a hidden, and deep message woven underneath it all!

  14. “The gift of perspective” is an awesome way of putting it. We can all take the same journey but everyone will inevitably see it differently.

  15. I love all of these comments! You guys always make me think. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

