Hey guys…this is supposed to be fun!

Colorful ConfettiHappy weekend everyone. 

I had a fun conversation with my agent the other day – the details of which I will share when I can.  At the end of it, I told her that I was really enjoying the projects we were discussing, and happy to be doing the things I was doing – to which she replied “Good.  It’s supposed to be fun!”

OMGosh…she was so right.  This IS supposed to be fun!

As people involved in the creation of books – writers, agents, editors, publishers and book sellers –  we face a lot of things that have the potential to really get us down.  And in those moments, we need to find a way to keep going – keep creating, keep discovering, keep perfecting. 

I’m not saying we should never feel frustrated.  I mean, seriously, we are human.  We work in a crazy business.  And of course we feel down. 

I know that as a writer, I certainly have those moments.  And the agents, editors, publishers and book sellers I know have those moments too.

The point is that just because we feel that way, doesn’t mean we should forget the way we feel on the good days – the days when the words flow, or we discover an amazing talent, or we read a story that touches us. 

We need to strive to remember that this really is FUN.

So, my wish to all of you this weekend is that YOU remember what it is that makes this fun.  We all work far too hard in this business for it not to be enjoyable.

Happy weekend!

5 thoughts on “Hey guys…this is supposed to be fun!

  1. Thanks for your encouraging words. As I try to break into the world of publishing, I find that my self esteem is dropping.

    I called my mother and told her that I didn’t have any depth and that I was ready to cash it all in. Her response? “What did you just say? You don’t have any debt? That’s wonderful darling!”

  2. Thanks for the reminder. It’s really easy to get caught up in the stress of how to get an agent/publisher. This is a refreshing reminder of why I started writing to begin with.🙂

Leave a Reply

