My Favorite Two Words…

THE END…

Okay, these aren’t REALLY my favorite two words.  But after what I am going through with Lacrimosa, I think they are going to be my favorite words. 

Lacrimosa has been a true labor of love for me.  Not only because I have enjoyed the story.  Or because the characters have become friends to me (this happens with all of my stories).  Or because I think it is marketable.

No – this has been a labor of love because it was the hardest thing I have written.  I wrote it in third, from two points of view.  I research the mythology of demons and angels, so that I could get the details right.  I consciously chose everything in this story – everything.  The setting.  The artwork.  The weapons.  The characters names.

Everything.

And now that it is so close to being finish, I have to deal with my grief.  I know I’m not REALLY finished with it.  There will be lots of editing, shaping, molding to come.  But it won’t be living inside of me anymore.  And there is a little bit of grief work I have to do as I switch from writer to editor mode on the storyline.  

My close friend and crit partner suggested that part of the reason I struggled with the end of the story so much had to do saying goodbye to it.  I didn’t think that was it.  But as I tried to finish it this week – and found myself unable to do so – I realized she was right. 

So, with bittersweet tears in my eyes I hope to be able to type the words that seemed so elusive right now…THE END.

Do you go through a grief process as you finish the rough draft of a story?

6 thoughts on “My Favorite Two Words…

  1. Nisa

    I think that’s pretty normal. I feel that way when I’ve finished a great book too. It’s like saying goodbye to an old friend and it’s emotional. It’s hard! I guess I just try to take comfort in the fact that I can pick it up again anytime I want. That it’s not really over. Good luck! I bet it’s an awesome story with all the work you’ve put into it!

  2. Grief process. Yes. Yes. Yes.

    Personally, my characters become so ingrained in my life that I don’t know what to do when they’re gone. It’s like, having the whole house to yourself for the first time in forever because the spouse & kids went somewhere. You just don’t know what to do.

    It’s always helpful to have something new to throw yourself into afterwards I’ve found. Whether that be a new wip or climbing Mt Everest. Though sometimes, climbing Mt Everest might feel like the easier choice!

    So excited for you!

  3. Wow, this is a totally new thought to me. I’m not sure why, but I didn’t grieve–I actually chest bumped with my husband and went out to dinner!

    I had such a feeling of pride over actually finishing what I’d started, and a whole novel at that!

    Maybe I’ll feel that way with my 2nd novel, but I really think I’ll still be proud, first and foremost🙂.

  4. Um, we’re totally at that stage with our WIP right now. We’re stuck on a stupid plot point and I have a feeling it’s because we don’t want the book to end. But we told our agent we’ll have it ready by the end of November, so it’s definitely time to get our butts in gear. Scary.

  5. Yes. I find myself procrastinating more than usual when it comes time to finish the story. Then I have a few days where I feel lost, which is strange considering all the time the story and I will spend together during revisions.

Leave a Reply

