When Kids do NaNo…

Nano young writers

 

We are all trying to do NaNo at my house…even my kids.  Especially my kids.

It started as a way to do a little enrichment and manage to carve out some writing time. 

It turned into a major project.    For them, 50K is a bit extreme.  Thank goodness NaNo has an alternative – NaNoWriMo’s Young Writer’s Program.   In this program, my kids can pick a word count – and change it up through mid November.

To prepare, my beautiful kids did something even many seasoned writers don’t do – they outlined, plotted and prepared. See the pictures below…this is what my wonderful kids do for fun!

Erika's plot diag

 

 

 

My youngest likes to use a web to get her ideas on paper

Fabiana researchs

 

 

 

While my oldest uses a plot line and then does some research – A LOT of research!!!

 

 

 

And you know what, I wouldn’t have it any other way. Besides, when they write – I get to write. Truly a win-win for all of us. 

Besides – all their hard work forces me to commit too.

If your kids like creative writing, give the NaNo for Young People a try. You won’t be sorry.

9 thoughts on “When Kids do NaNo…

  1. This is so great! How fun that your kids are getting in on the action – I wish I’d had something like this when I was their age. What a great way to teach young people that writing, projects, patience, and follow-through can be hard, but also fun and worth it. =)

  2. That’s awesome, Christine! I love that your whole family is so creative!

    When I was growing up, my dad always wanted us to be like the Von Trapp family from The Sound of Music. It was his dream to start a family band. Unfortunately, his musical talent did not transfer to me or my sister. Oh well.🙂

    Good luck to all of you!!

  3. That is so great that your kids are into this with you! Kids are such great motivators anyway. I’m hoping that when mine are old enough to know how to spell more than their names, we can do this thing as a family too!

    1. Christine Fonseca

      Never too late. Fabiana started one year after 11/10 and managed to get done. Since you can set a wordcount goal for your students, you can totally start whenever – check out the website and go from there

Leave a Reply

