Wi….WHAT????

Happy Wednesday everyone.  I have not done a WiP Wednesday in a really long time.  I was going to report my NaNo progres…but I am kind of embarassed.  Being a very competitive person – like seriously competitive – it is killing me seeing the amazing word counts my fellow NaNo writers are racking up in such a short period of time.

Me, well, I have …. drumroll…..700 words.  Yep, that is not a typo…Only 700.  I wanted to write last night – but yeah, sleep won out.  

When I started beating myself up over these paltry numbers, I flashed back on NaNo 2008.  It was an amusing flashback – so I thought I’d share a bit:

November 2008:

I am just recovering from a month-long bout of pneumonia.  Work is piled up like crazy, as is my stress.  I am coming unglued at the tiniest of things.  But, I want to do NaNo.  So I begin (I know, I know – first mistake, right).  So, I decide to write a sequel to my first, now shelved, novel.  I figure I know the characters, the setting, the storyline – this should be a piece of cake.

And I start writing.

But, as I said, work is crazy…like crazy with a capital C.  So I get behind.  VERY BEHIND. 

I join a NaNo group on Rally.  And I meet Elana and Carolyn – both involved in NaNo.  They encourage me, fill my mind with thoughts that I can actually complete this blasted thing.  And, if I am being completely honest, they intimidate the heck out of me – cause clearly THEY are going to finish, no sweat.

But, like I already said, I am very competitive.  So I wrote more.  But, I still was miles away from any possibility of ending up with 50K.

Now, since my work calendar enables me to be off for the entire week of Thanksgiving, I was able to write, constantly, for about 8 days.  In that time, I completed more that 35K.  And yes, I made the goal of 50K.

Of course I deleted a lot of that after the fact – but hey, I DID write 50K

See, I guess I need the looming panic-filled deadline to quiet that internal editor enough to allow me to write for NaNo!

In all seriousness, I have no idea if I am going to finish this year – but being the competitive person I am, I will try. 

How about you guys?  Where do you stand with everything?

7 thoughts on “Wi….WHAT????

  1. Nisa

    I think you can do it again this year! Competitiveness isn’t always a bad thing. It pushes people to be better than they were and that’s a great thing! Good luck with everything! Hopefully the weekends won’t be as crazy as the work week!

  2. With only 700, that’s a lot to catch up. But it’s nothing a couple of really good days can’t fix. I know you can do it!

    I’m at 5,432, which is AMAZING, considering my long drought of creativity. I still need to officially log my points at nano, but I’ll probably just wait until Saturday.

    Good luck!

  3. I believe that is why so many of us procrastinate? The looming dread of failure is an amazing (albeit hair-graying, sweat-inducing, panic-filled) motivator.

    You can do it! Just 1 day at a time, right?

  4. First off, we’re only on day 4. So all is not lost yet. Second, if you’re writing, you’ve accomplished the goal. As far as I’m concerned, the “real” goal of NaNo is to get people writing. And while it’s great to meet (or beat) the 50K word goal, if you’re writing at all, that’s a good thing. Keep working on it, and I’m sure you’ll be right alongside the rest of us at the finish line.

  5. We filled your head with thoughts that you could finish??? I’m so glad we did! It’s those thoughts that drive us forward. I hope I have someone whispering in my ear this year, because I think I’ve hit my first wall. And where is it? Yup. 10 K.

Leave a Reply

