Favorite Books of 2009

These favorite posts are tough…I mean, with all the books I read, how am I gonna trim the list to my top five???

Yeah, way too hard!

Oh well…here are my top five in no particular order – and yes, I counted series as one book (I can…it’s my blog :D)

  • Hunger Games and Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins – completely changed how I write books.  Seriously
  • Great and Terrible Beauty, Rebel Angels, and a Sweet Far Thing by Libba Bray – LOVED this series. 
  • Excile by Robert North Patterson – what a brilliant writer and researcher!
  • Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson – I got a few of my contemporary YA ideas while reading this!
  • Lost Symbol by Dan Brown – yes I am a Dan Brown fan.  I just really like the way he intertwines his stories.  I have learned a lot about the craft by reading his books.

Truthfully, there are at least twenty more books I could add to this list – but I wanted to keep these short, so there you go.

What great reads should I know about for 2010???  And if YOU have a book coming out in 2010…be sure to tell me.  I ALWAYS try to read the new stuff!

9 thoughts on “Favorite Books of 2009

  1. Nisa

    I’m a Dan Brown fan too and I asked for Hunger Games and Catching Fire for Christmas. Hopefully. I’ll be reading them soon! Great list! I don’t think I could have narrowed it down to five.

  2. I so want to read THE DARK DIVINE and BEAUTIFUL CREATURES. If I don’t get them for Christmas, I’m buying them for myself.

    And I loved THG and CATCHING FIRE too. And Graceling is very well-written.

  3. newtowritinggirl

    This is easy to answer – I’ve already blogged my top books. BEST for 2009 were:
    The Dirty Secrets Club by Meg Gardiner
    High Society by Ben Elton
    This Charming Man by Marian Keyes and
    Digital Fortress by Dan Brown.
    Looking forward to getting Lost Symbol in the new year.
    Happy Chritmas Christine, I hope you have a nice relaxing time🙂

  4. Oh YES! Hunger Games and Catching Fire!
    Also Graceling and Fire.
    Loved City of Glass and the whole Mortal Instrument Series.
    Also, Going Bovine, by Libba Bray.
    Currently reading Beautiful Creatures and loving it.

    Yesterday my critmate Lindsay Eland’s middle grade humorous book Scones and Sensibility came out.

    Next year there are three more critmate books, all in May I believe. They are GREAT..

    Heidi Ayarbe: Compromised
    Christine Johnson: Claire De Lune
    Kate Milford: The Boneshaker

    I’ve seen the covers and read about three drafts of each. Okay, I’m biased, but these women are TALENTED. Kate is one of a kind. Just wait.

  5. I have a whole pile of books I’m waiting to read in the New Year. Most will be out in the new few months. A number are part of a series. Hmmm, I think I’ll have to blog them, as well as the ones I enjoyed reading this year . . . and there’s been many. Too many to list here.

    I’ll admit I only read YA novels. It’s not like I have anything against adult books, but there’s sooooo many great YA books to choose from that I don’t have time for adult book.😀

  6. So many books … so little time. I have to say, I just read FAT KID RULES THE WORLD. LOVED it!
    And thanks, Lis, for the heads up on COMPROMISED.
    Hugs and Happy Holidays to all!

Leave a Reply

