Favorite Pieces of Writely Advice

I am a newbie to writing…I started about 18 mos ago and have gotten brilliant advice, tips and help from the writers I have met along this journey.

Here is a list of my top 5 pieces of advice I’ve gotten this year.

  • Read, read, and read some more.  And not just in the genre you write.  The more good books you read, the better you write (from Cassandra Clare)
  • Act like a professional writer from the beginning. (from my Blog Chain mate, Sandra)
  • Read your stories out loud (or use a text to voice app). (from another Blog Chain mate, Kat)
  • To become a better writer, you must write! (from my HS creative writing teacher way back when)
  • Always remember these rules for writing practice:  Keep your hand moving (in other words…don’t stop until your writing time is over); Lose control (or keep that inner editor quiet as you write); Be specific (show, don’t tell); Don’t think (another way to keep the editor out of the way until revisions); Don’t worry about the mechanics (that is for revisions); Feel free to write te WORST junk EV.ER; Go for the jugular (if something scary happens, step into that fear) – ((all taken from Natalie Goldberg’s Wild Mild)

There you have it – some of my fav advice. 

Your turn…what is the best piece of advice you have received?

This is the last post until next week.  I wish all of you a happy and healthy holiday.  Merry Christmas!

9 thoughts on “Favorite Pieces of Writely Advice

  1. Nisa

    I love the “go for the jugular” advice. lol! All five things are great! The best piece of advice I’ve received is not to take critiques as offenses or rejections as personal slights, but use what you have been given to get better and don’t dwell on points where you might disagree. Writing is subjective and just because one person might dislike it doesn’t mean everyone will.

  2. I’m a newbie at writing as well since starting doing Nano in 2007. The best advice I think I’ve received is just to sit down and write. Dedicate time to it. Let yourself go and write free flow. Much like brainstorming or creative thinking, don’t discount anything and keep writing.

    I do read a lot and expanding out and reading different genres. Hopefully this is helping.

    Looking forward to your book being done so I can buy it. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

  3. I think the best piece of writing advice I ever got was “Go with your gut.”

    I don’t know if someone told me or I just made it up, but when I do that, I’m happy with my work and that’s important to me.

    Merry Christmas!

  4. Wow great advice from everyone! I can’t think of anything else to add other than to make sure you’re surrounded by friends who get why you write and understand the realities of the industry. They’re the ones who understand the rejections and don’t tell you that you could always self-publish your book.😉 They’re the ones who cheer each moment of success because they know what it means . . . even if it’s just finishing that first draft.

    Have a great Christmas, Christine!

Leave a Reply

