Favorite reasons NOT to write…

Hi all – hope this last week of the year finds you well.  Just a couple lists left to share and then its time for 2010.  WOW.

Today’s list:

Favorite Reasons NOT To Write:

  • The house is too noisy and I can’t get away
  • I have no ideas for things to write about
  • I’m too busy (I use that one a lot)
  • I don’t “feel” like it
  • I simply must spend my time working on my social networking – you know, playing on FB, tweeting meaningless things, etc

The reality is – writers write…so I am really going to try to use less excuses for not writing in the New Year.

What are your FAVORITE reasons NOT to write???

7 thoughts on “Favorite reasons NOT to write…

    1. I know this is random (since we’re strangers at the moment!) but I totally identify with this problem! I wrote the last 25,000 words of my novel by hand, and typed them up as I went (every 2K or so). I tried it just for fun, because another of my blog friends (Merrilee Faber at http://notenoughwords.wordpress.com) wrote an entire manuscript by hand, and ended up loving it – not only did I feel more connected with my characters (perhaps because it felt like I was journaling, and handwriting is a personal thing), but it helped me keep myself from getting lost in Internet land all day! 🙂

  1. My favorite reason not to write?

    Well, this doesn’t happen too often, but I can easily be torn away from writing if I’ve been inspired to create a music video.

    Hope you had a wonderful Christmas!

  2. Being distracted by writing administrative activities, like researching places for submissions or contests! That’s great and all, but I can’t submit if I don’t have the stuff.

Leave a Reply

