Summing up the Year…

Happy New Year (almost!).  This is one of my last posts for 2009.  So, I decided, aptly, to reflect on the year.

Let me start with a quick stroll down memory lane…Christmas 2008 – I received a gift from a parent at school.  It consisted of coffee, a cute mug and specialty fortune cookies  My fortune was simple – you will become a published author.  I loved it.  Hung it on my fridge.  Read it daily.

Fast forward several months.

Jan – joined first crit group…what an experience that has been

April – finished my second novel.  Wound up shelving it with the first – but I may pull them out and rewrite one day.

June – decided to persue representation for my NF book

August – Signed with Krista Goering

Oct – Finished third novel.  Decided it had enough merit to revise

Nov – Sold my NF book to Prufrock

Nov – finished proposal for second NF project

Dec – finished first round of revisions on fiction.  Goal to have it ready to query in Jan or Feb.

WOW – What a year.  And my fortune was RIGHT!!! 

I am amazed at the brilliance of the year.  Not just as it related to writing – but in the rest of my life as well.  Like many, I went through a lot of turmoil this past year.  But every trial brought me closer to the things and people who matter most in my life.  In more ways than I can ever account for, I am blessed.  And I truly can not wait to see what 2010 holds in store!!!

Here’s wishing all of you a wonderful new year and a chance to embrace life in a way that is profound, deep, meaningful!

Come back tomorrow for my last post of 2009.  I have some cool news at the end of that post!

6 thoughts on “Summing up the Year…

  1. Teresa McDonald

    I am amazed and so very proud of your many accomplishments this year. I wish you many more of the same for 2010! I wait with anticipation for tomorrow’s news!

  2. Cool news at the end of the next post? I’m glad I waited until today to read this. I won’t have to spend as much time on the edge of my seat.🙂

    Wishing you the best!

Leave a Reply

