Holding it all together…

Sometimes all you need is someone to patch you back together when you’re beyond repair; help you keep the broken pieces from crushing in your hand.

And sometimes, that is too much to ask.

Of anyone.

 

I wrote those lines over the weekend, as part of a writing exercise dealing with fear and persistence. They made me think of the writing process in general and how much we, as writers, struggle to remember our strengths and have confidence in our abilities. 

It makes sense, if you think of it – writing is a business with many layers of rejection, like any business. Except the commodity we are trading – the item that may be rejected – is our writing, a piece of ourselves.

So, how do you get through those dark times…the times when our confidence shrinks, our belief shatters and we wonder why we continue to do this at all?

I am fortunate – I have a husband and two amazing daughters that walk this road with me. They, along with extended family and friends, are my own personal cheer section – people to give me a boost, no matter where I am on my journey.  They celebrate my success, nurse my wounds, and help me continue in the face of great difficulty.

Sometimes, though, I need more. I need someone who has walked this same road a million times as well.

Again I am blessed – I have close writerly friends that remind me of my strengths, challenge me to improve, and urge me on when I am convinced I can’t take another step.

And even then, it is sometimes not enough.

At those times, it is my faith that seeing me through…faith that I will find my way through whatever lies ahead, faith that I have everything I need right now, faith that I am enough.

Faith.

Writing has been an interesting journey for me – one that has taken me to some of my highest highs and my lowest lows. One that I have wanted to quit a thousand times.

I truthfully have no idea where this particular journey will lead. All I do know is that I am thankful every day for those that remind me of all the reasons to continue on.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Holding it all together…

  1. Gurl, are you reading my mind? LOL! I TOTALLY have been feeling this! And I do wonder, in a sea of negative reinforcement with only small buoys of positive reinforcement, what keeps me going?

    It DOES come down to faith. Thank you for saying that. I needed the reminder.

    Sending you best wishes of success!🙂

  2. This couldn’t have come at a better time for me. Thanks! And yes, I don’t know what I would do without my writer friends.

    btw I think your Twitter account is infected like Elana’s was last week. I just got a direct message from you that didn’t make sense.

Leave a Reply

