Wherein I admit my fangirl crushes and the suckage that is uncontrolled anemia…

Yeah yeah…I know…I wasn’t going to blog this week. But dude, seriously, I may go crazy with no interaction with you guys! So, I thought I’d share a bit of the warped mind that is me….

Yep, I have many many fangirl crushes. Time to own up to them. Let’ start with the famous writerly folk:

  • Libba Bray – she is freakin’ brilliant. I know, I know…Going Bovine was one of those “Love it or hate it” books – but man, I LOVED IT!!! (My review is going up tomorrow on the Searching for a Good Read blog). It was EXACTLY what I needed to read recently…but more on that later.
  • Michelle Zink – She just rocks! She is nice, approachable, not to mention an awesome writer. If you haven’t checked out Prophesy of the Sisters…you really need to.
  • Christina Katz – she is the reason I decided to work on platform development – not just for my NF stuff, but for my fiction as well. And you wanna talk balanced…She is the epitome of balance.
  • Carrie Ryan – anyone who can make me read and LOVE zombie books…seriously, THAT is talent!
  • Suzanne Collins – need I say more…really?

Okay – so, next up….almost famous writers (book deals coming, books being pubbed, just all around AMAZING peeps)

  • Lisa and Laura Roecker – seriously, could there be more entertaining peeps in the blogosphere. Not to mention they are great writers
  • The YA Rebels – freakin awesome vloggers…best ever. All amazing writers in their own right…all increadibly REAL peeps
  • Julie Butcher – cuz she just gets me and my wackiness
  • Elana Johnson – the crit partner I couldn’t live without
  • Michelle McLean – the person I whine too…probably too often

So there you have it…my fangirl crushes, and other peeps I just can’t get enough of.

But what about the other part of the title…the suckage anemia part.

Yep…I just found out I have uncontrolled anemia! Now, this is not THAT big a deal in the long run. Assuming the drs are correct, I’ll be good as new as soon as my iron levels get out of the sucky, shouldIConsiderabloodtransfusion range. But until then, I am tired. Like surreal, bizarre, canbarelyfunctionletalonethink range.

For those of you who know me at all…you know…THIS SO DOESN’T WORK FOR ME!

So, I’m learning to be less productive than I like. To be, dare I say, patient with myself.

Yea, not really working.

Oh well, the drs won’t release me to work until the anemia is much improved…so I guess I might as well enjoy the time.

I’ll be blogging eventually…writing once my brain can string the thoughts together correctly….and in the meantime, I am reading. A LOT.

So, let me know of any 5-star books you’ve read lately. Gosh knows, I’m going need the entertainment!

Talk to ya next time…

16 thoughts on “Wherein I admit my fangirl crushes and the suckage that is uncontrolled anemia…

  1. Hang in there, Christine! I hope you’re on the mend soon and you’re in my thoughts! If you’re looking for a good read to distract you–I’m going to suggest Moon Called by Patricia Briggs. It’s not YA, but it’s a good read.😀

  2. 🙂 There is no such thing as “too often” among friends🙂 Always here for you. Now get off the computer and get some rest!😀 Loving all your reviews, by the way. My husband, on the other hand, is not. The eyebrow twitches are becoming nearly uncontrollable every time he sees me grab my “book wish list” to write down another title you’ve posted😀 Keep them coming!!

  3. Hmm. Looks like your fangirl crushes are my fangirl crushes. Bummer about the anemia. Taking iron kinda sucks. There’s nothing grosser than iron burps.
    Take care! Eat some red meat and spinach!

  4. Hey Christine,
    Thanks for your support.🙂
    I also tend to get sidelined by anemia. In fact, I just commented to my husband that I am feeling run down and better go pick up some vitamins before I head to NYC. Happens to the best of us! Often, I can see it coming but it does sneak up on me from time to time and kick my butt. You’ll feel better soon. Hang in!🙂 Chirstina

  5. I can’t imagine how frustrated you must be, but it is good for you to learn to be patient with yourself and oh for the love of books! I can’t wait to hear all about what you’ve read! The series I’m muddling through right now isn’t five star, sorry to say.

    I hope you get a load of energy soon! Get better!

  6. I’m a bit leery about reading Going Bovine. Though I love Libba’s writing and characters, I didn’t much care for the surreal aspects of Great and Terrible Beauty. And since GB has a living, breathing yard gnome…

    I hope with all my heart you are well soon!

  7. michellezinkbooks

    Wow! I’m so honored to be included among so many incredible writerly women – and that includes YOU!

    Your presence online always brings a smile to my face, and I’m sorry to hear that you’re not feeling like yourself. Sometimes things like this are the Universe’s way of telling us to take it easy for awhile.

    And you don’t want to mess with the Universe, do you? DO YOU?!

    Sending you good thoughts for a quick recovery and lots of *hugs*.❤

    MZ

  8. I’m going to check out the women on your list, ASAP.

    Hope you feel recharged really soon. I’d be so frustrated!

    We missed you at the critique group meeting on Saturday, but hopefully we’ll see you next month!

    ~Caroline (from Temecula group)

  9. I hope you get your iron levels where they should be soon!

    I also like Charles de Lint’s work. I would also recommend Soulless and Changeless, the first two books in the Alexia Trabotti series. They’re set in an alternate Victorian England where vamps and werewolves are accepted into society. The heroine is a no-nonsense bluestocking with impressive cleavage who also has the ability to negate the supernatural. Very funny books!

Leave a Reply

