Smile and world smiles with you…

I love to smile. No really – I do. I catch myself smiling for no real reason…just to smile. You know, the kind of smile we had as a kid – when simply getting up in the morning was a reason to smile. When our whole world seemed like a fantastic adventure…

We often lose that smile as a teen. More so as an adult.

But not me.

At least, not most of the time.

Oh sure, I still get down. Really down. Profoundly down even. I mean, I am human – I do have the full range of emotions coursing through my veins just like everyone else.

But even then, I am happy deep down inside. At my core.

So, what does this have to do with writing and this crazy publishing business I now find myself in?

I think anyone in any job has to find their inner happiness BEFORE they are successful. All too often we rely on external events to determine our level of contentment – our happiness. We say things like, “I’ll be happy when I find an agent” or “When I get the book deal, I’ll be happy.” Trust me, I know this happens – I have been guilty of it myself.

But you know what? Happiness should come first.

Christina Katz addressed this is her ezine, The Prosperous Writer, this week (and BTW, if you aren’t a subscriber to it you TOTALLY should be!), stating:

“if you are unhappy, you will want to get happy before you try to build or extend a writing career. Because if you try to build a writing career on top of unhappiness, you are building it on sand. And it may stand in the short run, but in the long term, it’s going to sink”

So today I challenge you to smile – find your core of happiness and build your writing career from that place. I bet you’ll be amazed at how differently you feel – how much less the rejections inherent in this business seem to sting, how much improved your prospective is on things.

At least, I know that is how it is for me…

14 thoughts on “Smile and world smiles with you…

  1. Lua

    I loved that quote! And I couldn’t agree with you more Christine; our happiness should not depend on external events but should come from within us- no other reasons except that we are alive and breathing.

    So I think I’ll take that challenge and today I’ll smile for no other reasons than a friend reminded me how important it is to ‘simply smile’.🙂

  2. This is so true. I realized this a long time ago. I think the next thing I’m battling is dissatisfication. That’s not a word, but it is now. If you ask me, I’ll say I’m happy. But I still want things in my life. They make me happy. So sometimes I still feel dissatisfied. I’m working through that.

  3. I love that build on sand analogy. Happiness does come from within. Sometimes when my mind starts running and I’m worrying over things I can’t control, I remember to smile and it relaxes my face which helps relax the rest of me, kind of a form of meditation. Thanks for an inspiring post!

  4. I love your post too (I wonder if you know there isn’t a link to your blog on blogger friend connect. I googled to find you. I will paste you into my reader!)! This is smart advice. We do have to love what we are doing first. It is the Bhgavad Gita that says something like: we have rights to our labor but not its fruits, which essentially means the same thing, I think! Don’t get too attached to outcomes or you will never find happiness! Like Paul, I like the sand analogy!

  5. This is something I’ve been thinking a lot about. If I can only be happy in the future (when I get an agent, when I sell my book, when I can hire a housekeeper), then I’m never going to be happy. The time to be happy is now, because that’s where I’m working on living–now.🙂 And when all that other stuff happens, that will just be icing on the cake.

    Smiling is good. I smile a lot. I also abuse these🙂 because you can’t always see the smile in the words.😀

  6. Pingback: Tweets that mention Smile and world smiles with you… « CHRISTINE FONSECA, AUTHOR -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

