Learning Patience the Hard Way

It is no secret that I am not really a patient person. I am driven – constantly moving, working. But a month ago, I developed a health condition that required me to stop. Like completely.

Now, the health situation is NOT life threatening – and in the long run, it is not serious. But it does require some changes on my end. Changes to the way I live my life, changes to how I do things.

All good changes.

The time off from work has been good. I have been restless, anxious, frustrated and down right MAD.

And I have learned patience.

I found this quote the other day, and I think it sums up what I’ve learned over the last month –

“Patience is not passive; on the contrary, it is active; it is concentrated strength”  – Edward G Bulwer-Lytton

I still have some rough days ahead of me, I am certain of that. But I am on the mend, armed with a kind of patience I have always needed, but not developed.

My blogging will still be somewhat intermittent for a while – but I miss you guys too much to stay away for too long!

14 thoughts on “Learning Patience the Hard Way

  1. I just had to comment! One of my favorite quotes from I’d don’t know where is…

    Patience is not a virtue, it’s a necessity.

    So true, so true.

  2. Great quote! I’ve always thought of patience as being lazy or ignoring something so that it doesn’t eat at you. But concentrated strength–that’s such a different way to look at it.

    Glad that you’re on the mend!

    1. Christine Fonseca

      Oh Sherrie – I had another great quote on that one too….
      Patience is waiting. Not passively waiting. That is laziness. But to keep going when the going is hard and slow – that is patience

  3. I am sorry to hear about your health, but glad it will all turn out okay.

    Patience is a difficult thing. It seems the only way to learn to be patient is to be placed in situations that TRY your patience…. over and over and over. Then, just when you think you finally get it, something comes along that pushes you over the edge.

    I hope you find patience and keep it… I am still working on mine.

  4. Glad to hear you’re on the upswing…patience may be necessary, but it’s sure not fun.😉

    I’ve never heard patience referred to as “laziness” until these comments. Now I’ve got a complex, wondering if people think my willingness to go slower and “wait” for things is lazy. Interesting.

    (I’m not always patient, but I do tend to stay calm when others don’t – giving the illusion of patience, at least. Or laziness, I guess. LOL)

  5. Hi Christine, that is a wise quote regarding patience, especially in the writing world where great story ideas often come quickly but often only mature and reach their full potential over time if we have the perseverance and patience to let them.

    I hope you feel better soon. (I put your copy of The Chosen One in the mail today.)

  6. It’s so hard to deal with these kinds of frustrations sometimes. I was laid up not long ago myself with illness. And I was rendered completely useless. I did nothing but watch television and read for nearly two weeks. A part of me was ready to rip my hair out. After a couple of days, I could hardly stand to be around my own humbug self. But after a while, I started to realize that as much I wanted to be able to get to work, it was actually kind of nice to slow down a bit. I hadn’t sat down to watch television in so long. And for the first time in ages, I was forced to just lay down and do nothing but relax. Sometimes, life has a way of slowing us down..

    I wish you the very best in continued healing and recovery. Take all the time you need–we’ll still be here😉 See you when we see you. Just take care of yourself and all that is most important in your life.

  7. Lua

    We miss you too! I hope & pray for you to get well soon Christine.
    Patience is definitely not a passive state, it’s very active, when I try to be patience I use all my strength to do so. I loved the quote, thank you for sharing that🙂

Leave a Reply

