Finding a New Sense of Balance and Clarity

I have blogged about balance many times before – blogged about the ways I weave my life together in order to maximize what I accomplish, how I clarify my vision for my life, how I set my goals, how I use those things to balance my life.

And it has worked for me. Most of the time.

Until I found myself flat on my back, unable to work, unable to write.

Then I had to redefine balance.

Now that I am on the mend – getting ready to return to work, beginning to write again, pushing myself a bit to see what I can handle – now I need to again clarify what my goals are and how I am going to achieve balance with a new set of rules. New boundaries.

Christina Katz talks about clarity in her newest edition of the Prosperous Writer. She defines clarity as not just as knowing what you want and need, but also clearly defining what you don’t want and don’t need.

Ah, the key…defining both sides of the equation!

I have always written goals – clarified what I wanted to accomplish – and used that to help balance the things  I needed to do. But I have not done a good job of clarifying the things I don’t want.

Things like excess drama and angst, clutter and chaos – all of the things that have thrown me out of balance.

I believe things happen for a reason in our life – our job is to figure out what that reason is.  For me, I have been forced to stop, re-evaluate things and find my purpose again. My balance will be born from that purpose.

I really don’t know what is in store for me – but I am getting clarity every day on both what I want – and what I don’t want.

How do you guys re-evaluate your priorities when things go awry? How do you find clarity?

10 thoughts on “Finding a New Sense of Balance and Clarity

  1. Great post, Christine! Glad to hear you’re on the mend! I find that when I just can’t muster any interest or energy to put into something, then I know I’ve been pushing too hard. I DON’T want to get burnt out.😉 I want to ENJOY the journey. Makes dealing with the stress of it a bit easier.

    Love the idea about defining BOTH sides of the equation, though. It’s an important thing to consider.

  2. I’ve been thinking about this a lot. I think have boundaries on my writing time allows me to really enjoy the time that I’m not writing. It frees me to relax and be the mom, so I can have beautiful experiences with my kiddoes, like beating my son at checkers yesterday!

  3. I think the same way you have done (only not so extreme)🙂 I stop and take a break from everything until I can get my ducks in a row. LOL Kind of makes me think of Apollo 13, when the backup guy was in the simulator trying to get the right sequence that would allow the astronauts to safely turn everything back on while still leaving them enough power to get home safely.

    I have to shut everything down and turn it all back on, one thing at a time. If something makes me overload, I start over, until I have the right balance, the right sequence – everything turned on and running while still leaving me with enough of what I need to do what I need to do.

  4. Glad to hear you are feeling better!
    Honestly, when my balance is off kilter, I feel ill. I lose sleep, and I get tired and irritable, and inevitably I get a cold. It’s a slap in the face to reprioritize and take care of myself.

    And the necessities of life also slap me in the face too–I’ll feel out of touch with what’s going on at my kid’s school, or the bills start to pile up… things like that. For just survival stuff, balance has to happen, or everything falls apart!

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention Finding a New Sense of Balance and Clarity « CHRISTINE FONSECA, AUTHOR -- Topsy.com

  6. I’m so glad that you are feeling better. When the pressures of writing get to be to great I usually will stop writing and read a good book. After, I remember why it is that I do what I do.

  7. I agree with Cole. Sometimes it’s just time to hit pause for a couple days and read some good fiction. Then I remember why I love writing in the first place.

    Best wishes as your prioritizing and reorganizing!!

  8. Thanks for the heads up the book. I will be adding that to my summer reading list for 2010. I’ve been learning more about prioritizing and boundaries from another book, “Your Work, Your Life…Your Way,” and realized I need to manage my time a lot better in order to fulfill all the goals that I have for this year. So far it’s been very helpful. Hope you can check it out.

Leave a Reply

