Finding Writerly Friends

So, I’ve been doing this writing thing seriously for 2 years this week. WOW. Two years…

It has been a great ride so far. I have written three full novels, and partially written three others.

I wrote a NF book that sold. I wrote two additional NF proposals that are on submission to publishers (I hope to have sharable news in the next few months). I found an agent. Found out I needed a new agent for my YA fiction.

I’ve gone to conferences. Joined an online crit group. Formed a live crit group. Learned more than I did through my traditional education.

I discovered the overwhelming world of social networking, blogging, facebook, twitter, writing forums…WHEW!

And I have made friends. Some very good friends.

Which leads to my question today…

Where have you found your writerly friends? Which forums have proven the most helpful to you and why?

I found most of my crit partners and online buds through Query Tracker and the QT forum. But I know there are loads of other great forums out there…

So lay it on me – how and where did you meet your friends?

16 thoughts on “Finding Writerly Friends

  1. I found all of my writerly friends either on the QT forum or through other friends I met on QT. What’s really funny is that I met 2 of my best writer friends through QT only to find out they lived a few minutes from me in my tiny little town LOL

  2. Maybe I need to visit the QT forum. I met my writing friends and critique groups through SCBWI forums. Then a few others through Juvenile Writers of KC before I moved.

    I’ve e-met lots through blogs now and hope to one day really meet them. Writerly friends are the best!

  3. I found some of my writing friends through the Online Writing Workshop for Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror. I met another friend through BroadUniverse, an organization that promotes women authors in SF, fantasy, and horror. Other friends I’ve met at conventions/writing workshops. And of course now I’m meeting people through their blogs, so to speak.

  4. I found mine through SCBWI and the critique group. Also, i have a friend that my husband found for me (sounds weird but it’s true) through his Improv classes!

  5. I started out meeting writer friends on Authornation but had to move on because every page of the site loaded so slowly I just didn’t have time for it. There are some great people there. Since then I’ve moved on to Twitter and I’ve got to tell you, it’s the place to be! I’ve met more fantastic writer people on Twitter than any other social network out there, and I’ve tried a lot of them! It’s where I met you🙂

  6. I’ve found most of my writing friends through the NaNoWriMo Forums and write-ins, which is nice because we are all pretty close and can get together all year long. We’ve made a nice little crit group and a nice and slightly larger just-for-fun group. And I’ve made a few new writing friends over Twitter (I’ve not been on very long yet).

    I might have to check out these QT forums soon. I might have to get my butt in gear and finally finish editing something so I don’t feel silly hanging out in a QT forum with nothing to query yet.

  7. I started with NaNoWriMo, and met several people through the Absolute Write forums as well. Blogging and Twitter are my other two main venues for meeting writers – I meet at least one new writer per week on Twitter, it seems…🙂

  8. I totally got my start at QueryTracker, then branched out from there to Facebook and Twitter. I must admit I’ve learned more in the past two years than I could ever have imagined!😀

  9. I’m a QT-aholic. Some of my bestest writing friends are from there!

    Other great writer friends are from work and the writing workshop I attend twice a year in my hometown.

  10. Betsy Pritts Ickes

    Wow – you have really done well in 2 years, Christine. I met my first group of writer friends at the SCBWI/LA. Others are in my local critique group. I’m a member of QT, I’ll have to start checking out the site for writer friends!
    FaceBook has definitely opened up my world to the writing arena.

  11. So far I’ve met everyone through blogging. At some point I will probably transition into forums or a critique group, but for now the blogosphere gives me everything I could possibly want.

  12. jessrlove

    I met mine through my online book club. We realized we were all writers and formed a Google group where we talk writing.🙂

Leave a Reply

