What Are Your Writerly Habits?

I get a ton of newsletters and articles delivered to my email every day. A recent one had to do with the connection between habits, behavior and success. The article suggested that habits determine behavior – and behavior, in turn, determines the outcome.

Okay, I can buy that.

So I thought about my writing life. What kind of habits do I have with regards to writing? What behaviors do these produce? Are these behaviors likely to lead to success?

Deep questions for the beginnings of summer!

Well, my writerly habits include the following:

  • Writing most days (I can’t say EVERY day, cuz yeah – I don’t do that)
  • Blogging or doing something to build platform most days
  • Editing, revising, or otherwise working on the craft of writing most days
  • Reading – both books in my genre and books outside of my genre – most days

These are great habits. They drive me to continue working towards my goals. They keep me on track. Sure, they can be improved – everything can. But they are a great place to start.

Perhaps the most important habit is one I cultivated early on in my writing career…

DETERMINATION

PATIENCE!

Now, I am NOT very good at the patience thing yet, but thankfully my writerly BFFs help keep me focused on that

What are your writerly habits? Do they help or hurt your success?

8 thoughts on “What Are Your Writerly Habits?

  1. All of the above for me, though editing….not so much. I’m just trying to get into the habit of writing everyday, though most days seems to be more realistic. I am probably way the heck unbalanced in the amount of reading::writing. I was going to try doing NaBloPoMo this month, but yesterday (yep, the SECOND day!) I procrastinated myself right out of posting anything for the day. When I have done this before, I just gave up altogether, because unlike NaNoWriMo, if you miss just one day of posting for the month, that’s it. You no longer qualify. This time, I’m still going to try to continue for the rest of the month and see if I can do it minus one day.

    Oh, and another thing, I take time out of most every day for non-writing creative pursuits–knitting and crocheting. It helps me think.

  2. I probably blog more and read more than I edit and write right now. Some of my classes entail a lot of writing, so novel writing suffers. 2 classes left and then I’ll more creative time to dedicate to writing. Right now I have to say my writely habits aren’t contributing to any success. At least I recognize that and working on changing it.

  3. I don’t write every day, but I edit and revise quite a bit. I check blogs many days of the week. I’d read more, but there just isn’t time! I need to make some time, for sure.

  4. My main “writerly habit” is writing 6 days a week. I skip very rarely…because it just feels “wrong”. That’s probably the best habit I have when it comes to writing…though I have started developing the habit of minor editing at the very start of my writing sessions. I think as long as I can keep that from getting out of hand (ie, more editing than progress), it will be a good habit as well.

    I read all the time, whether I’m writing or not, but for me that’s just a habit I’ve had since I was 5 or 6 years old. Hard to classify it as a writerly habit when I’d do it whether I was writing or not.😉

    If I wasn’t working full-time, I’d love to establish regular editing times in the afternoon, when my head is most in the zone for that type of work. As it is, I have to see what the day holds, and try to fit it in here and there as I can.

    Which leads to my other best writerly habit, I guess – which is reminding myself daily what my writing goals are, and what the plan is to get there. That helps me stay focused and motivated.🙂

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention What Are Your Writerly Habits? « CHRISTINE FONSECA, AUTHOR -- Topsy.com

  6. I write everyday (that includes writing blog posts, working on wip, editing, outlining new wip). I check out the blogs almost every weekday. And I read everyday . . . though only in my genre. I don’t feel guilty about not reading outside my genre because I read YA (and all the subgenres within it). I don’t have time to read anything else. My TBR pile is tall enough as it is.😀

    I don’t think I could survive with doing at least two of those things a day.

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

