Wherein I Freak About My Daughter Going to HS

Holy COW! I can’t believe THIS day is here…the day my oldest promotes to HS.

I knew way back when she was in kindergarten that this day would be hard. Knew it when I cried during her fifth grade promotion. And man, here is it. Her big day.

Her fifth grade promotion was amazing – the kids sang this great song about kindergarten. Eighth grade promotion is just a fast reading of the names…that and lots of celebrating afterwards.

Anyways, I missed the kindergarten song, so I thought I post the words to share with all of you:

Kindergarten Wall
Words and Music by John McCutcheon

When I was a little kid not so long ago
I had to learn a lot of stuff I didn’t even know
How to dress myself, tie my shoes, how to jump a rope
How to smile for a picture without looking like a dope
But of all the things I learned my favorite of them all
Was a little poem hanging on the kindergarten wall

CHORUS:

Of all you learn here remember this the best:
Don’t hurt each other and clean up your mess
Take a nap everyday, wash before you eat
Hold hands, stick together, look before you cross the street
And remember the seed in the little paper cup:
First the root goes down and then the plant grows up!

Well, it was first, second, third grade, fourth grade, too
Where I had to learn the big things the big kids do
To add, subtract, and multiply, read and write and play
How to sit in a little uncomfortable desk for nearly half a day
But of all they taught me my favorite of them all
Was the little poem hanging on the kindergarten wall

Chorus

But lately I’ve been worried as I look around and see
An awful lot of grown-ups acting foolish as can be
Now I know there’s lots of things to know I haven’t mastered yet
But it seems there’s real important stuff that grown-ups soon forget
So I’m sure we’d all be better off if we would just recall
That little poem hanging on the kindergarten wall

Chorus

©1988 by John McCutcheon. Published by Appalsongs (ASCAP).

Happy 8th Grade Graduation my lovely daughter!

5 thoughts on “Wherein I Freak About My Daughter Going to HS

  1. Lisa Amowitz

    Aw, Christine—congrats! That was me last year. And it was a double whammy with my daughter moving up to HS and my son graduating HS! This year feels a lot less cataclysmic and the acceptance has settle in. My kids are nearly grown.

    Between theirs and the college graduations I attend as a faculty member, I attend a lot of graduations!

    Your song made me think of my daughter and son’s Kindergarten song (they sang it at my daughter’s elementary school graduation) This Little Light of MIne. Man, just thinking about this makes me tear up.

    Good luck, Christine! And, congrats on surviving middle school! High School is so much better!

  2. Congratulations to your baby! And good luck to you! These moments are so, so bittersweet. It’s like every day they just take a step farther away from us. What a precious song. It just threw me back to kindergarten for my oldest child. Makes me kind of teary just to think about it. Where does the time go?

  3. Aw. I have a friend whose daughter graduated last weekend, and one of the Slushbusters’ daughters is going to high school next year. When they reach these milestones, it means you did a good job!

    And I love John McCutcheon. We’ve seen him perform live a few times. He always nails the really important stuff in his lyrics.

  4. Congratulations! I can’t even imagine my kids as teenagers. Actually, as a high school teacher, I’m scared for when my kids become teenagers! Sadly, you can’t stop it from happening.🙂 Thanks for sharing the poem!

Leave a Reply

