Expectations.

Expectations – we all have them. Ideas about when we’ll find THE agent who believes in our work. Or THE editor who champions our book. Or THE epic launch.

Expectations.

But here’s the thing…expectations almost always lead to disappointments. Things are seldom as we picture them in our minds. And when that happens we get discouraged.

Discouragement leads to … well, no place good.

So, I’ve decided to let go of my expectations about this biz. That is NOT to say I have stopped dreaming big. I haven’t.

But I am giving up trying to figure out a time frame, or who the right agent for my fiction is, or…or….or

Instead, I am focusing on writing.

Just writing.

Okay, that and building my platform.

But mostly writing.

I figure the better the writing, the more likely my stories will have the same success as my nonfiction.

Right? Right!

So, who’s with me? Who’s ready to let go of expectations and just write?

13 thoughts on “Expectations.

  1. You have a point; you shouldn’t write to fulfill your expectations – don’t write ‘cos you wanna be rich and famous; you should write because you sincerely love to write; you should do it simply for the sake of doing it.

    But hey, it’s only human to have expectations.

  2. I have high expectations and I will not let go of them, despite attempts to prove these expectations are unreasonable.
    I expect good manners from seventh grade boys.
    I expect two-and-a-half-year-olds to warn me when they have to go potty.
    I expect my family to drink all the milk before it goes sour.
    I expect a fine agent will be excited to represent me, s/he will sell my mss and I will have a long and satisfying writing career.
    I expect these things, and I refuse to doubt they can be achieved.

  3. Lisa Amowitz

    I am totally with you on this! It’s the only way to roll. Writing is a journey with no destination, really, except telling the stories inside you and bettering your craft (like any art). If, in the process, you find commercial success, that’s icing on the cake. The true success is to keep writing!

  4. I think it’s a great reminder and on a perfect day! I finished my MS last week (the first draft that is) and I’m going to let it rest for a week and I plan to then start revisions. I’m nervous, I hope to do well, but I’ll just remember to enjoy writing and the revisions that go with it! Wish me luck as I wish you luck!

  5. Danyelle

    Amen! Something I’ve had to learn to is to get rid of unrealistic expectations–anything that relies on someone other than myself to achieve. I’m still in the process, though. >.<

  6. I know exactly what you mean. It helps me to remember that some of the best things that have happened in my writing in terms of publications or getting an agent or almost any kind of tangible “success” came seemingly serendipitously. Forcing a specific kind of success or the timing or the who, what, where just doesn’t seem to work for me.

    Work (i.e., writing) does work, though, as you said.🙂 And the good news is that most of the time it really is its own reward at the end of the day.

    ~ Lisa

  7. Amen to that! When our expectations are too high, we just end up miserable. My motto is to be thankful for what I already have, and the rest is just gravy. Great post!

  8. Pingback: Tweets that mention Expectations. « CHRISTINE FONSECA, AUTHOR -- Topsy.com

  9. I took on this challenge this past month.

    I had to let go of my expectations of finishing my book within a certain time limit. At the end of the day, I figure it’s better to write well and let the story come to life in it’s own time – than rush the writing and end up with something that reads like that ‘rushed’. (Hugs)Indigo

  10. *deep breath* Think Zen thoughts and having just enough to distract you from all the worrying and waiting and keep your mind on the prize. I’m totally letting go of expectations with you!

Leave a Reply

