Sunday’s Musings: The Road Less Traveled

“Courage is not the absence of fear but the judgment that something else is more important than fear. The brave may not live forever but the cautious do not live at all. For now you are traveling the road between who you think you are and who you can be.” – Meg Cabot

I don’t normally post on Sunday. But the events of my life of late have put me in a contemplative mood. And in a mood to share.

Real life has been a rollercoaster – filled with amazing highs, and heart wrenching lows – sometimes within the span of minutes. My writing life has been very much the same. And it’s all made me think about this journey so many of us find ourselves on…and the questions I know we ask ourselves.

Regularly.

Things like:

  • Can I really do this?
  • Is it worth it?
  • Am I good enough, talented enough, brave enough…etc

The questions are endless at times, as we find pieces of our confidence scattered around us. We push through those dark times, and soon feel incredible joy – joy about our writing, or where we are on our journey.

And soon, as life so often does, we find ourselves angsting over something yet again.

It is a cycle – a perpetual rollercoaster of highs and lows. It is…

Life.

It takes courage to face this journey. Courage to continuously write our words, reshape them, critique them, and reshape them again. Courage to subject them to the world for review. Courage to take the feedback and listen to the heart of the story.

Courage to follow this dream – this muse.

But as Meg Cabot so beautifully said in the quote above – this is the space of dreams. The place between who we think we are and who we will become.

So, no matter how difficult the journey – no matter how it stretches me  – I cannot imagine taking any other path.

How about you?

5 thoughts on “Sunday’s Musings: The Road Less Traveled

  1. Wow, I have more courage than I realized.😀

    Yes, writing-to-be-published is definitely not the weak of heart. There are so many ups and downs, but I couldn’t imagine it any other way. And I couldn’t imagine doing anything else. I get a thrilled when I receive feedback (after I get over the initial shock) and see a new way to make my story better.

    Thanks for the great post, Christine.😀

  2. Sometimes it is taking a step back to realize where you are is exactly where you want to be. For some of us, journeys are longer and feel more arduous, but it is the willingness to toss aside fear to keep us going.

    You know where I am when you need me!🙂

    ((hugs!))

  3. It’s a marriage of sorts. This ( a writer) is who I am for better or worse. I cannot imagine divorcing myself from the experience, from words, and prose that creates and brings to life – characters.

  4. Excellent quote… and so very true! Wow, I’ve actually just been putting some final edits on a blog about this very thing. My belief is that the lows are when we learn the most about ourselves, build our perseverance and learn whether or not we are meant to truly follow our dreams. We also learn to appreciate the highs and to let ourselves linger in that gratitude while we can.

Leave a Reply

