For you, my baby….

Fourteen years ago tomorrow, July 26, 1996, I wandered into my weekly checkup with my Dr. Only two more weeks until my first child would be born…assuming she was on time, that is.

But, the Dr. had other plans. You see, the pregnancy was high-risk (all mine are). I was not in good shape, so he needed to deliver her early. I went straight to the hospital for an emergency C-section. I doubt I’ll ever forget how my heart thrummed in my ears as I was wheeled to the delivery area.  The sense of panic I felt as the anesthesiologist worked on me. The odd tugging sensation as my beautiful daughter was delivered.

Or the loneliness I felt when she was no longer part of my body.

And here I am, almost 14 years later, watching her as she prepares for High School.

She is an amazing child, full of compassion, spirit and yeah – teenage angst. She supports my crazy world of writing and is one of my best critics – always telling me her EXACT opinion of my words.

The time goes by so quickly and I cherish every moment I get to share with her.

Happy Birthday Baby (one day early). I can’t wait to see what the next 14 years has to offer!

2 thoughts on “For you, my baby….

  1. Happy Birthday wishes for your daughter. Time goes by so very quickly. It seems like yesterday, I watched my own daughter prepare for high school. Today she’s 22 and married to a soldier, working a full time job and going to school.

    Cherish these moments dear friend. (Hugs)Indigo

    1. What a beautiful post. I cried the day my daughter was born because “one part of our relationship is already over.” (the pregnancy) Glad I’m not the only one. It’s simultaneously thrilling and sad to see one phase end and another begin. She is now going into second grade, and my head is still spinning over how fast it’s gone by.

Leave a Reply

