Tell the Truth Tueday – Do you feel guilty?

So, here’s the thing…I have overcommitted myself. Yep, I said it. I have too much on my plate to possibly get done. After being gone for a month, I have HUGE cleaning things to do (carpets, deep cleaning, etc), too many projects all due SOON, and yes…I’m back at work on Monday.

Now, I know what you’re thinking…just cut some things out. Easy, right?

Except for me.

You see, I tend to feel guilty guilty guilty when I can’t get everything done. I know, it makes no sense (unless of course you’re me – then it makes perfect sense)

So, my choices are – get it all done, or feel guilty about it.

Today, I’m choosing guilt. That and ice cream…cause, really, there is NO WAY it’s all getting done.

What about you guys? Any guilty feelings you wanna share???

8 thoughts on “Tell the Truth Tueday – Do you feel guilty?

  1. I always feel guilty. When I’m writing, I’m not spending time with kids. When I’m spending time with kids, I’m not writing. The housework is never done, and I hate cooking, which makes me think that my kids are growing up malnourished. (But I know they aren’t.)

    I feel so much better now that I’ve said that.🙂

  2. Deborah

    You summed it up beautifully (as did Kat). I feel sane at last; I’m not alone! Well put. Here’s hoping you – and all of us – can at least celebrate the moments along the way. You’re good at that, Christine…now, if we could just blast away the guilt.🙂

  3. Yeah, me too. And then I tell myself that I’ll stop over-committing, and I get this “grand new idea” and I do it all over again. I normally don’t feel as guilty about my own stuff as stuff that readers are waiting for (blog posts, serial chapters)…and when I don’t get around to commenting on blogs I really enjoy, I feel guilty about that too. I also feel guilty when I skip my workouts to get other stuff done that I feel guilty about. LOL

    I’m far harder on myself than anyone else is though…so I just keep on keepin’ on, and do what I can.

    Enjoy your ice cream!

    1. On most days I feel fine if I don’t get it all done, on others I feel stressed. I rarely ever feel guilty, unless it’s The Husband’s underwear that don’t get washed. He’s not fond of going commando at work.😉

  4. Dude. DUDE. Constantly. I feel guilty right now that I’m spending the day writing–like I SHOULD be doing–instead of critiqueing a friend’s work. ARGH.

Leave a Reply

