Bookanistas – Linger Love!

WOOT!! Welcome to another installment of Bookanista love!!! I have to say, I look forward to these posts every week!

Not sure who or what the Bookanistas are? Click here for the scoop, and be sure to tell us if you have an arc you’d like us to read.

This week’s Bookanista love features the following:

 

Now, on to my Bookanista Shout out… A little LINGER love.

Release Date: July 13, 2010

Basic Blurb: (from Maggie Stiefvater’s Website)

The sequel to Shiver follows the story of Grace and the wolves of Mercy Falls.

Maggie says: “It’s about after. What happens after you discover there are werewolves in the wood, after you’ve fallen in love for the first time, after you’ve lost what you think you can’t live without, after you’ve become someone you can’t live with.”

…grace…

This is the story of a boy who used to be a wolf and a girl who was becoming one.

Just a few months ago, it was Sam who was the mythical creature. His was the disease we couldn’t cure. His was the good-bye that meant the most. He had the body that was a mystery, too strange and wonderful and terrifying to comprehend.

But now it is spring. With the heat, the remaining wolves will soon be falling out of their wolf pelts and back into their human bodies. Sam stays Sam, and Cole stays Cole, and it’s only me who’s not firmly in my own skin.

Cover:

 

 

 

Nice subtle cover…just like the subtle way the story weaves together!

 

 

 

 

Fav Line:

But my body betrays me. Now I am the unknown, the unknowable. 

Why I liked it:

This book is just a great romantic story. I love the way the characters are woven together, the way the story ebbs and flows. Just beautiful. Great job Maggie!

Where you can find it:

Come back next week for more great new release celebrations. And remember, books are definitely the new black!

11 thoughts on “Bookanistas – Linger Love!

  1. Lucky me got to get to see Maggie Stiefvater on her tour last night. She was fun and engaging. It was a packed house, as you might have guessed. I’m in the middle of reading Linger now, and the writing is as beautiful as it was in Shiver.

  2. I don’t read a lot of YA (a little here and there, because I do have a 14 y.o. daughter who loves to read…so she has shelves of them), mostly because I often find them not particularly well written. Sure, my kid loves them, but I often find them lacking. Plus, my TBR stack of books made for grown ups, about grown ups is huge, thus I rarely get past the first 5 pages of YA. So many books, so little time.

    HOWEVER—> I LOVED Maggie’s Shiver and Linger. Beautifully written, she captured me in her spell from the first page of both books, and held me there all the way to the last pages. They both get my (hard to get) vote.

    ~Lola

  3. I’m about 3/4 the way thru Linger. Love her sparse yet evocative style. If you’re burnt out on the typical paranormal, read Shiver and Linger. They’re much more about being human than wolf.

Leave a Reply

