Celebrating the release of Guardian of the Gate with Michelle Zink and a Fab Giveaway!

I am so thrilled for today! Not only do I get to talk with the ever-fabulous Michelle Zink about her latest in the Prophesy series, Guardian of the Gate, BUT I get to host an amazing contest to boot! Truly a GREAT DAY!

I first met Michelle online, when I won Prophesy of the Sisters in a postcard contest. After finishing the book, I asked (ok begged) her for an interview. She graciously said yes.

Since that times we’ve emailed occasionally and talked online. She is one of the nicest, most genuine people I have ever “met” – truly a gracious human being!!!

With the release of Guardian of the Gate, I knew I had to interview her again. So, here she is…Michelle Zink to tell us a little more about her and her books:

CF: What has life been like since the release of your last book?

MZ: It’s been busy! But in every good way. Because my books release in August, I can’t tour until September (because most of the school aren’t open). This means that the craziness really doesn’t stop for a good 6-8 weeks after the release. But I’m SO not complaining!

CF: How are you marketing this book? Anything knew you are trying?

MZ: You know, I’ve given a lot of thought to marketing since Prophecy came out last year. The internet has become a massive venue for book promotion, which is both a good and bad thing. Good, because not everyone has a big marketing budget behind their book and the internet can level the playing field just a bit (great books shouldn’t be about who has the most money behind them, in my humble opinion). Bad because it can feel like a 24/7 infomercial for various products and services. I discovered a long time ago that I don’t have it in me to shove my books down people’s throats. It’s just not me. So I decided to do what comes naturally – talk to people, get to know them, connect with them authentically, and make a positive contribution to the online community. Those are the things that mean the most to me and they’re the things that allow me to feel good about who I am and what I’m doing. I’ve been told (more than once) that I should change my profile pictures on Twitter and Facebook to my book covers (right now, it’s a picture of me). And listen; I’m a former Director of Sales and Marketing in the corporate world. I know how it works. But I don’t want to do what everyone else does just because I’m supposed to. I WANT people to know who they’re talking to when we converse online. I want them to know that I’m a human being with worries and joys and insecurities just like everyone else. Leaving my picture up is my way of saying to people, “I’m Michelle. Nice to meet you!” I guess I just believe that I don’t HAVE to shove my book down anyone’s throats. It’s enough to be honest. To care. To connect. And maybe I’m naive, but I kind of think the loyalty and support from readers will grow out of those things and an enjoyment of my work. Sheesh! Sorry for the long reply. Tell us how you REALLY feel, right?!

{To ya she was the most authentic and genuine person! I absolutely think she has it RIGHT on this one.}

CF: Was there anything different about this project than your last one?

MZ: Definitely! My agent Steven Malk worked with me to make it perfect. And simply put, he’s a genius. Other than that, I wrote from the heart like I always do and hoped for the best.

CF: What’s the future hold for you and your projects?

MZ: I don’t really know. And I LIKE not knowing! But hopefully I’ll be writing in some capacity for a long, long time, because that’s really where the joy is for me. I write 2-3 new books a year, so I always have something in the pipeline. Right now, I have a potential new series in the cue, so stay tuned!

{Love the idea of that!}

CF: Quick fire randomness – 

  • Cookies or cake? – Cookie! So comforting.
  • Book or ebook? – Book, definitely! I can see the practicality in ebooks for travel and such, but nothing will ever replace the feel and smell of a real book.
  • Laptop or notebook? – Laptop!
  • Online or in person? – Tough! I’m kind of shy and I really treasure my time alone (I’ve always been a bit of a loner), but I also love a great in-person conversation with the right person.
  • Book tour or blog tour? – Book tour! I love to travel and I love meeting my readers. Plus, I’m a hugger! I hug pretty much everyone who comes to my signings. Come on, admit it! Hugs feel NICE, right?❤

Thanks Michelle for stopping by and sharing a bit of yourself with us again. If you want to read my previous interview with Michelle, click here.

Now, the contest deets:

PRIZE – A COPY OF BOTH PROPHESY OF THE SISTERS AND GUARDIAN OF THE GATE – BOTH SIGNED!!! See, amazing, right. All because Michelle is just that kind of author!

How to Enter:

  1. Leave a comment on THIS post
  2. If you tweet, fb, or blog about the contest, let me know ad you’ll get an extra entry for each thingy you do.

Easy, right?!?

Other deets:

  • Contest ends Thursday, August 26 at midnight PST. I’ll announce the winner on Friday.
  • Yes, it is open to international entries.

That’s it! Cool, right??

Good luck everyone!!!

***THE CONTEST IS NOW OVER. THANKS TO EVERYONE WHO ENTERED***

34 thoughts on “Celebrating the release of Guardian of the Gate with Michelle Zink and a Fab Giveaway!

  1. I tweeted:

    This was an awesome interview! I love reading author, agent, editor, and publisher interviews so much. It keeps me excited about writing. I really loved the quick fire questions too. They made me smile.

    *****Please delete my previous post. I had my email and website – and _ mixed up. It won’t let me delete it myself*************

  2. Great interview! Congrats, Michelle, on the new release. I enjoyed your take on marketing your books. I get skittish at the mere thought of “ramming my books down people’s throats” too. Non-aggressive marketing is definitely a learning experience, but very rewarding too.

  3. I must be pretty selfish because I so didn’t want to spread the word on this one. lol! But I did tweet it. What a great interview! I loved Michelle’s answers. She sounds amazing and I hope you know you are!😀

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Celebrating the release of Guardian of the Gate with Michelle Zink and a Fab Giveaway! « CHRISTINE FONSECA, AUTHOR -- Topsy.com

  5. Natalie Aguirre

    Great interview. Thanks for the great advice on marketing. It made it seem not so overwhelming. Good luck with your book.

  6. Thanks, everyone, for stopping by to read my interview. I’m glad my more, er, organic take on marketing makes sense to someone other than me!

    And thank you, Christine, for having me here. ❤

    MZ

  7. Pingback: Enter the Michelle Zink Guardian Giveaway by Thursday, 8/26 « CHRISTINE FONSECA, AUTHOR

  8. isorakazul9

    That was a wonderful interview, thanks for sharing!
    And thanks so much for the opportunity! I’d spread the word right now, but I should be off to bed before I pass out in front of the computer.

  9. Cassandra Johannessen

    Wow! It’s great to know that this awesome writer and caring, down to earth and loves her readers🙂 ….unlike some of the other people who right books who get so involved with fame and become well…air heads in my opinion….lol …all and all great interview🙂

    I’m posting this on twitter and facebook please e-mail me if I need to post the links because I will in a heart beat lol
    thanks❤

  10. Sarah Diebol

    looking forward to the third book soooooo much. Im so excited. I loved the first one and the second one and i know the third one will be just as amazing. Thank you for the opportunity and the entertainment.

  11. Pingback: Bookanista Love for Michelle Zink’s Guardian of the Gate. « CHRISTINE FONSECA, AUTHOR

Comments are closed.