When Wednesday, or when on earth am I gonna get all this stuff DONE???

So yesterday was Mockingjay day. I bought it, let it torture me all night while I tried to focus and get some work done. In the end, I caved a bit and read. Stress relief, right…

Don’t worry, no spoilers here.

And not what this post is about…

This post is about time management…and the lack of it I seem to have of late. Remember my post all about balancing everything? Yeah, well it’s not really working. See, I didn’t plan on some of the deadlines I currently have. Or the cold I caught last week…a horrible, nasty cold!

Now, I am NOT complaining..at all. I LOVE everything going on in my writerly life right now.

And the goals I set were good – and will likely work once I get caught up.

But for now…Hmm…not working. I do know that writing is TOP priority. But some of my other obligations are important too…

So, I have a couple of questions for you guys to help me find my elusive balance….

Ready? Okay…

  • When do you read and comment on blogs? How much time do you spend on that?
  • How about your writing? How much time are you spending on that?
  • Blogging? Marketing? and everything else? How do you fit it all in???

Seriously, I could use any tips you have – links, posts, general advice…ANYTHING???

Thanks guys!

13 thoughts on “When Wednesday, or when on earth am I gonna get all this stuff DONE???

  1. Natalie Aguirre

    I work and have a family so I have to be disciplined to get it all in. But I try not to get too hard on myself when I don’t meet my goals. Because you can’t be busy all the time, which is what it feels like. I tend to look at blogs, early morning, a little bit on my break at work, and at night when I’m too tired to write. I write for a bit in the early morning, at lunch if I can take a full lunch hour, and a few hours each day of the weekend. That’s all I have time for.

  2. Steven K. Griffin

    Hi Christine –

    I’ve recently started downsizing my peripheral activities by doing a couple of things: 1)Deleted 4 of my social media accounts, including Facebook and 2) Aggressively cut my Google Reader feeds down from 147 to just 20 of the best. I figure if there is an article good enough to read that I don’t already have in those 20 feeds, it will come across in my Twitter feed at some point.

    Those two actions alone have freed up more time than you can imagine for me to focus on writing articles for my blog and working on my novel.

    The other thing I’ve done is started waking up an hour earlier. I had to slowly pull back the time I wake up, but the extra hour in the mornings give me enough time to get 500-1000 words extra for the day into my writing routines.

    As for times, I generally write both blog articles and words toward my current WIP first thing in the morning. Then I read and comment on blogs. This only takes around 30 mins now since I’ve cut my number of feeds down to 20.

    Your mileage may vary.

  3. I only read and comment on blogs first thing in the morning while I’m eating breakfast🙂 Once the day gets started, I just get caught up in other things. I always write my posts for my own blog on the weekends so I don’t have to worry about those during the week. I fit writing in around my kids’s schedules. My editing work comes in spurts, so when those jobs come in I shift everything around.

    It’s a juggling act and some days I do better than others. And I totally agree with Natalie. Don’t be too hard on yourself if some goals don’t get met. Cause it’s going to happen….frequently. At least it will if you are anything like me ;-D

  4. Um yeah all of that! *sigh* it’s tough. I give myself one hour a day on blog stuff, two-three hours + on writing stuff, one hour on my jewelery business, and one hour on other stuff (emails, FB etc.) but yeah, I don’t/can’t always stick to those parameters…

    1. I have the same question! I write my posts on Sunday, and spend time on those posted days (M,W,F) to check out blogs.
      I write during free mornings on Monday and Friday, and late at night after the kids go to sleep.
      But honestly, the blogging does seep into every spare minute of time, as it’s easier to do than set apart a block of time for writing.

  5. Yeah, I’m too disorganized (well, more like unorganized) to really offer any useful information. One thing I do, actually, is take breaks when I’m feeling burned out. Otherwise, fun things turn into chores, and that’s just not cool. Then again, my pre-agent status means I have no deadlines, per se. So, yeah…

  6. I only read and comment on the days that I post and I try to limit myself time wise or else I can lose an entire day because there are so many good blog posts! I like to write when everyone is asleep or out of the house (hooray for school starting today!).

  7. Hi, Christine! I got bogged down in the summer with freelance writing work, blogging, reading and writing. Then I realized, simply, that I can only do what I can do. And that means focusing only on what’s immediately at hand. If I’m on deadline for a press kit? Then I sweep everything aside and get to work. If I have a day for the novel? That’s all I do. Blogging for me now is an outlet only when I need it or when I have something to say. When I have an hour, I do my blog reading and commenting – but only for that hour. If I can’t get to the blogs, I don’t. I also make reading a priority. I set aside time in the evenings that allows me to get through at least two books a week. So just focus on what’s immediately at hand – AND LET YOURSELF OFF THE HOOK when you can’t get to something else because of it, like blogging. Good luck!

  8. Ien Nivens

    Christine,

    Here’s a tool that I have found very useful when I’ve been up against it, stressed out and in need of serious time management. I’m working on an adaptation of this technique (by combining it with other strategies that I’ve learned and developed out of my own experience) to create a tool that’s specifically designed to help writers to establish a regular writing habit. But I still rely on the unaldulterated “Pomodoro” as a time management tool for the other kinds of tasks that you mention and that most writers have to deal with.

    I use it to limit my time on social media sites, for instance. It’s perfect for that.

    http://www.pomodorotechnique.com/

  9. Honestly, there comes a time when you just have to let things slide. Don’t read blogs for a week. Don’t network. Pick it up again in a week or two when you’ve caught up on other things. I would highly recommend that if you have a really important deadline coming up. Where you’re juggling three jobs essentially, that’s probably the best time management suggestion. We all want to have cool super powers or Hermione’s time stopping clock, but reality keeps coming back to haunt us. The truth is, I’ve stopped networking. My kids are little and they need me and I just can’t keep up with blogging. I’m checking/stalking my favorites, but everything else is somewhere along the wayside. And really, at this stage for me, I need to work on the writing more anyway. As for writing, again, I can’t do it when my family’s awake so I set aside an 1-2 hours (depending on the day) to get it in. Sorry, I’m not much help. :S

  10. Benoit

    Hello Christine,

    Thanks to let me feel my life easier !
    I only read one blog : yours🙂
    I only write a mail or two a day, to a friend.
    My job takes me a lot of time, otherwise, I’m not committed…I just try to take life the easy way.
    That’s why I am and will stay an underachiever.
    I have nothing to sell (I just create music for myself) so I do not have to oversocialize.

    If you love what you do, be overcomitted. A delay won’t kill you ! Just do not stress and DO !
    For the rest, try to say NO.

    Good luck

  11. Time management. My nemesis. I read as much as I can, comment as much as I can, whenever I can. That’s how I do it. I don’t make it to everything, or even some things, as often as I should. Ah, life.

  12. I barely have time to do anything. I’ve been reading and commenting on blogs during lunchtime at work, but I’d much rather be writing. I feel like I have to keep up with the social media aspect of writing in order to learn though.

Leave a Reply

