Getting into the Minds of Teen Readers

A friend of mine and I were brainstorming different story ideas over the weekend. Why? I don’t know. I have TWO WiPs I really need to write. But, I’ve been stuck, gun-shy, struggling to walk back up the mountain this past week.

So, instead of doing the writing I NEED to be doing, I decided to just brainstorm ideas and take a moment to get into he minds of teen readers. Of course, anytime I need to REALLY get into the minds of teen readers, I turn to the THINK TANK – my own, personal teen consulting group!

I asked my TEEN to contact the group and ask a simple question:

What are you looking for in a YA story RIGHT NOW?

The results were awesome, so I thought I’d share.  Of the ten people polled (all girls, BTW. The ale members of TTT didn’t answer), 6 wanted romance, 5 liked a lot of action or adventure, and 1 wanted contemp.

Some of my fav quotes from the group:

I love cheesy romance – it’s funny when two guys are fighting over a girl

I love a good book were the girl has boy issues

Gimme a romantic thriller that is exciting, dramatic and full of unexpected twists.

See why I love my Think Tank!

What are you looking for in a good story?

(and BTW, yes, I did manage to do a “little” writing despite my procrastination)

9 thoughts on “Getting into the Minds of Teen Readers

  1. I love hearing the results you received back after asking that question! It’s interesting to know what readers are looking for, even if the boys didn’t want to answer, it still gives you a pretty good idea of what’s happening in the YA world.

    When I’m at a lack for writing brainstorming helps SO much! I find that writing crap still helps me through everything. Actually I’ve gotten good blogs that way, learning a bit more about myself and once I get things in order the writing comes… all naturally.

  2. That is awesome! I want a THINK TANK! I love funny books with a bit of romance and suspense thrown in. I like other things too, but those seem to be my favorites lately.

  3. You are funny Christine. And your TT is awesome! I love the quotes you shared. I like so many different types of book, that I’m not sure I could say what, exactly, I’m looking for most. A good read! Does that clear it up for ya?😀

  4. Your Think Tank confirms what I’ve been thinking lately–that I need to pay a little more attention to the romantic plotlines in my WIPs! (But not at the expense of action… what I need is ATTRACTION ACTION, lol.)

Leave a Reply

