Wherein We Talk About Moving On…

This is the second part of learning to let go of your book after it is published. This time, I’m talking about the act of letting go and moving on. In the previous post, I set two tasks to accomplish – Accepting the reality of  your book’s release and working through your feelings.

Now it’s time for the last two tasks to complete.

  • Adjust to a new reality:

It’s time – all the preparations for a launch are complete, the book has been shipped, the reviewers are ready to weigh in.  In a matter of days, I will finally be able to say “I’m a published author”.

There will be good reviews. And there will be really really horrible ones. 

There will be expectations – from authors, from friends, from my agent, from editors. There will be different pressures as publishing houses look to my sales as a deciding factor when determining whether or not to buy my next project.

This is the new reality I face. But not just for me…for any author who has achieved their dream and been published.

It is not an easy reality. In fact, for many this is the place where they fall –

Filled with despair and broken expectations (their own and others), they decide to quit, buried under the weight of disappointment.

I do not want this to happen to me.

So I read amazing pieces of advice from other published authors (LIKE THIS AMAZING POST). I begin more projects. I adjust and move forward, not holding on to the expectations about this launch.  And I hope I do not get stuck.

  • Letting go and moving on:

 Being a published author means letting go and moving on. It means moving to the next project without regret, without looking back. So this is where I am right now. Excited for the moment, and yet ready to move forward.

I have more NF projects to finish and send to my editor, more ideas to send to my agent.

In fiction, I have a story screaming to be finished and another waiting in the wings.

In short, I guess I am moving on.

How about you guys? What have you done (or what will you do) when its time to move on?

9 thoughts on “Wherein We Talk About Moving On…

  1. It is so good to read this Christine. I hadn’t really ever thought of it, but I can totally see how moving on could be a problem. Letting go could be a problem. Good for you for doing both!!

Leave a Reply

