Oct 7 on the tour and my BOOKANISTA Review

WOOT!! Welcome to another installment of Bookanista reviews!!! It’s a really great line-up this week with tons of great book love, so be sure to check out everyone’s posts.

But first, a few housekeeping things…

The Blog Tour for EMOTIONAL INTENSITY IN GIFTED STUDENTS is in full swing. Still haven’t read the first chapter? Check it out here

Here’s what’s coming up today:

I know the book has been really difficult to find online, with places like Amazon report long delays in shipping. The good news, my publisher, Prufrock Press, has it in stock again, so you can order it through them.  Even better, you can enter the contests and win a SIGNED copy. Check out the My Stuff for a complete list of events, and be sure to leave comments for many chances to win many books.

Now, onto the Bookanista feature. We have amazing reviews today, so be sure to check everyone’s out.  Not sure who or what the Bookanistas are? Click here for the scoop, and be sure to tell us if you have an arc you’d like us to read.

This week’s Bookanista love features the following:

Kirsten Hubbard gives props to Between Shades of Gray
Shannon Messenger brings us Cover Love and a Teaser for Desires of the Dead
Elana Johnson is a fan of HER AND ME AND YOU
Lisa and Laura Roecker love XVI
Shelli Johannes-Wells gives us a Paranormal Preview
Myra McEntire shares some Trailer Love
Carolina Valdez Miller adores NIGHTSHADE CITY
Michelle Hodkin gives props LIKE MANDRIN
Jamie Harrington is awed by ACROSS THE UNIVERSE

Now, on to my Bookanista Shout out – GIRL, STOLEN by April Henry

Release Date: September 28, 2010

Basic Blurb: (from Amazon)

Sixteen year-old Cheyenne Wilder is sleeping in the back of a car while her mom fills her prescription at the pharmacy. Before Cheyenne realizes what’s happening, their car is being stolen–with her inside! Griffin hadn’t meant to kidnap Cheyenne, all he needed to do was steal a car for the others. But once Griffin’s dad finds out that Cheyenne’s father is the president of a powerful corporation, everything changes—now there’s a reason to keep her. What Griffin doesn’t know is that Cheyenne is not only sick with pneumonia, she is blind. How will Cheyenne survive this nightmare, and if she does, at what price?

 

COVER: 

 

I liked the cover. Nothing flashy, but definitely something intriguing 

 

 Fav Quote:

“But she couldn’t see the guy who was kidnapping her or where the were going.

Because for the last three years, Cheyenne had been blind. “

Yea, I’ll admit it, I didn’t read the blurb on the book or anything when I started reading. So when I got to this line, I was like “whoa!”

Why I liked it:

Being a bog mystery and suspense girl, I was drawn to the story for its storyline. It’s told in third person, with alternating points of view – something I haven’t seen in YA of late (not the alternating views, but 3rd person), so I enjoyed the change. I also enjoyed the climax of the story. Ms. Henry clearly did some research on several aspects of the plotline and did a great job with her authenticity in some sections. 

Where you can find it:

Be sure to check out the other Bookanista reviews. And check out the tour for EMOTIONAL INTENSITY in full swing today. As for me, it’s my Birthday and although it is my busiest workday this week, I m ging to try to find a way to sneak in some fun!

 

6 thoughts on “Oct 7 on the tour and my BOOKANISTA Review

  1. sounds like a cool book🙂 And happy birthday!!!! And holy cow on selling out everywhere! That’s amazing, congrats!!!!! Hopefully they get those presses printing and get more copies out to everyone😀 Have a spectacular day!!

Leave a Reply

